Dear Tipperary Supporter
‘The Greatest Hurling Story Ever Told’ Comes to Dublin!
The Dublin launch of ‘Doyle: The Greatest Hurling Story Ever Told’ will take place on Monday next, December 12 at 7.30 pm in the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel on the Naas Road in Dublin.
This brilliant new book by John Harrington, launched prior to the first anniversary of the death of the Tipperary hurling legend, tells the amazing story of the indestructible life and times of John Doyle who won eight All-Ireland titles for Tipperary in a career lasting 19 years – without ever being substuted or missing one championship game through injury.
Irish Sports Publishing invite all members of the Tipperary Supporters Club to attend what will be a memorable evening – but in particular the evening will hold special appeal for supporters of Tipperary, Cork, Kilkenny and Dublin. “Westside” from The Clonmel Nationalist has given the book a very positive review which you can read in his weekly column on www.tipperary.gaa.ie . Liam Hayes and Irish Sports Publishing have kindly offered to make a donation to the Tipperary Supporters Club for every copy sold on the night. Tipperary Supporters Club 2012 memberships will also be available at the event. Be sure to come along for what promises to be a good get together before Christmas.
The great appeal of the evening will be a unique Q and A with some of the great hurling stars of the ‘Doyle era’, replicating a brilliantly enjoyable and insightful night in Thurles last month which was attended by just on 400 Tipp fans.
This is a unique opportunity for Dublin-based Tipperary supporters to ‘relive’ the amazing exploits of the men in blue and gold in the 40s, 50s and 60s!
Included will be the following hurling greats from the past:
Tony Wall:
A winner of five All-Ireland titles, six Munster titles and Six National Leagues, Tony Wall was the greatest centre-back of his generation and the greatest centre-back in the history of Tipperary hurling. He captained Tipperary to the 1958 All-Ireland title when he also won the hurler of the year award, and played alongside Doyle in the blue and gold for 15 years. A deep thinker on the game, Wall published the first ever hurling coaching manual in 1965.
Jimmy Smyth:
The Clare man is arguably the greatest hurler never to win a provincial or All-Ireland title. John Doyle always regarded him as one of the finest hurlers he’d ever played against, and Smyth showed why in 1953 when he scored 6-4 in the Munster Championship against Limerick, a record that will surely never be broken. In spite of little success with Clare, Smyth was chosen on the Munster inter-provincial team on 12 occasions, winning eight Railway Cup medals, and was also named on the Munster Hurling Team of the Millennium in 2000
Jimmy Grey:
Jimmy Grey played both hurling and Gaelic Football for Dublin and was goalkeeper for the last Dublin team that reached an All-Ireland Senior Hurling Final in 1961 where they were narrowly beaten by Doyle’s Tipperary. He’s a former Dublin hurling team manager, County Board Chairman and Leinster Council Chairman.
Tipperary Supporters Club 2012 Membership
Membership for 2012 is now available on https://www.tippsupportersclub.com/ and the member’s gift is a specially produced Tipperary Supporters tote bag. This gift is to mark 25 years of the Tipperary Supporters Club, the first GAA supporters club. To see an image of this versatile bag go to https://www.tippsupportersclub.com/ . In addition each Adult Membership Card will be accompanied by a Tipperary Supporters Car/Window Sticker. Adult Members will be entered in Ticket Draws for five pairs of stand tickets before each of Tipperary’s 2012 Munster and All-Ireland championship games. They will also be entered in a Draw for an All-Ireland Hurling Weekend stay at the Four Star Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, Dublin (match tickets included). Also members can access a discount scheme and will get Championship and League team announcements by text as well as regular updates by email on team news and events. Adult Membership will cost €30 (unchanged since 2005).
Supporters can join on line on www.tippsupportersclub.com by credit card or debit/laser card. If you want to give membership as a present, a gift voucher is available on the website. This could make a nice Christmas present. Also on the website details are available of the direct debit facility; as the Club is run on a completely voluntary basis it would be a great help if members could join by direct debit. We will make contact with those members who have joined by direct debit in previous years. If joining by post please send a cheque or postal order payable to Tipperary Supporters Club to John Coman, PRO and Membership Officer, 52 Hazelbrook Road, Terenure, Dublin 6W (087-9087105, email: info@tippsupportersclub.com ).
Junior Membership is free on www.tippsupportersclub.com .
Thank you for your support.
Padraic Maher Interview
To read the interview with Pádraic Maher go to: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Tipperary-GAA-Sport-Fan-Page/166337953422682
Congratulations to Lar Corbett who was named Munster Hurler of the Year for 2011 and David Power who was named Munster Manager of the Year for 2011 by the Munster Council last week. They received their awards at the Munster GAA annual banquet in Killarney last weekend. Well done also to Jerry Ring, former West Board Secretary, who received a special merit award for his great service to the GAA. Recently announced Munster minor footballer of 2011, TJ Ryan of Rockwell Rovers also received his award last weekend.
Tipperary GAA Scene
To read this week’s Tipperary GAA Scene go to www.tipperary.gaa.ie where you can read about the Munster Club Intermediate Football Final, County Junior B Football Championship Final, Primary School Quiz and County Youth Forum.
Please pass on this email to your friends.
Keep up with all the news on www.tippsupportersclub.com, www.tipperary.gaa.ie, www.hoganstand.com and www.munstergaa.ie.
Ar aghaidh le Tiobraid Árann.
John Coman
Public Relations Officer
Tipperary Supporters Club

Leave a Reply