Tipperary Supporters Club AGM Report

The AGM of the Tipperary Supporters Club was held in a good atmosphere in the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, Naas Road, Dublin on Wednesday April 3rd.

The written reports and audited accounts for 2012 were presented to the meeting and explained in detail by Eamonn Buckley, Treasurer, and by Bryan Maher, Assistant Treasurer. Over 2,200 members had joined the Club in 2012. The Golf Classic was again a major success as both an attractive event for supporters and a substantial fundraiser. Sponsorship and donations were also successful in raising funds despite the difficult economic times. Other activities including proceeds from the Tipperary Credit Card (see www.tippsupportersclub.com) completed the income for the year. Grants of over €60,000 were made to cover expenses incurred in the preparation of the Tipperary SH Panel including catering and accommodation, travel expenses, training gear and hurling boots, physical training and medical expenses. Other donations made were mainly for the benefit of underage hurling in Tipperary with sponsorship of the All-Ireland Under 16 Hurling Tournament, which is organised by Tipperary Bord na nÓg each year.

In his report Secretary Joe Tuohy summarised the highlights of the Club’s activities for the year. He also expressed condolences to all those who suffered bereavements since the previous AGM, especially to the family of the late Chris Lacey. John Coman, PRO, reported on another good year for numbers joining as adult members and as junior members. John Malone, Membership Officer, asked all members to encourage extra members to join up.

In his address as Chair John Tierney thanked all the Tipperary Supporters for their generosity in supporting the fund-raising efforts of the Club even in very difficult economic times. John thanked everyone who had helped him in his role as Chair of the Club including Club members, sponsors, funders, committee members, County Board and Bord na nÓg officials, team manager, selectors and backroom team and of course the players who wore the Blue and Gold with great commitment and skill. In particular he wished every good luck and success to the management team and players.

John Tierney was re-elected as Chair. As Treasurer of the County Board, Eamonn Buckley was re-elected automatically as Treasurer of the Club. Also elected were Bryan Maher, Assistant Treasurer, Joe Tuohy, Secretary, John Coman, PRO, and John Malone, Membership Officer. The meeting was also addressed by Seán Nugent, County Board Chair. Liam Myles, President, Tipperary Association, Dublin addressed the meeting and reminded those present of the upcoming Tipperary Person of the Year 2012 award. On behalf of the players Michael Ryan, SH Assistant Manager, thanked the Club for the support given by the Club. Michael urged all Tipperary supporters to assist the Club and spoke of the good atmosphere within the SH Panel. William Maher. Minor Bainisteori, also provided insights in the preparation for the Munster Championship and thanked the Club for its support for the panel. Also present at the meeting were Noel McGrath and John O’Brien.

Comments are closed.