Tipperary Supporters Club AGM and Membership Launch by Liam Sheedy

Tipperary Supporters Club AGM and Membership Launch by Liam Sheedy

The 33rd AGM of the Tipperary Supporters Club saw a great gathering of Tipperary Supporters in the Anner Hotel, Thurles on 30th January with members travelling from all parts of Tipperary and from far and wide in Limerick, Cork, Laois, Carlow, Clare, Kilkenny and Dublin.  Supporters were delighted to see the Liam McCarthy Cup and the Under 20 Munster and All Ireland Cups.  Also on display were the perpetual Tony Reddin Cup, kindly presented to the Tipperary Supporters Club by Mrs Maura Reddin, awarded to Seamus Callanan as Tipperary Senior Hurler of the Year based on a vote by Tipperary Supporters Club members along with the beautiful annual Tipperary Crystal award, kindly sponsored by John Quirke, Jewellers, Cahir.


Bryan Maher, Assistant Treasurer, presented the detailed audited accounts for the year to 31st October 2019 which resulted in grants of over €93,000 to expenses connected with the Intercounty Hurling panels including training camps, medical treatment, specialist training, travel and accommodation. Major sources of income were membership, golf classics in Tipperary and Dublin and sponsorship/donations.  Expenses such as the cost of membership gifts and postage of membership packs had been kept to a minimum. The financial year end is 31st October and expenditure incurred after that date brought the total contribution to team expenses for the 2019 calendar year to over €120,000.  The Club held a very successful Stars in their Eyes event in November 2019 which took place after the financial year end.


In addition to the activities of the Tipperary Supporters Club, John Tierney, member of Tipperary GAA Commercial Board and committee member of the Tipperary Supporters Club, gave details of fund raising conducted by the Commercial Board including a celebration of Tipperary Hurling in the Mansion House, Dublin, on April 10th, 2019. The dinner, organised in association with Tipperary GAA’s official sponsor Teneo, was a great celebration of the 27 All Ireland Hurling Championships won by Tipperary throughout the years, with eight living captains honoured on the night.  The Commercial Board made a contribution of €185,000 to Tipperary GAA during the season along with a further donation of €50,000 towards the holiday fund for the Senior Hurling panel.


In his report to the AGM as Secretary Billy Coman summarised the highlights of the Club’s activities. In his address as Chair Terry O’Neill thanked all the Tipperary Supporters for their generosity in supporting the fund-raising efforts of the Club including Club members, sponsors, funders, committee members, County Board officials, team management and of course the players.

John Coman, Public Relations Officer, reported on a record year with 2,565 joining as adult members, and asked all members to make a special effort to encourage extra members to join up and to ask existing members to re-join using the direct debit facility. Members paying by direct debit for the first time will enjoy a special discounted membership rate of €30 for 2020. He reported that many members had already joined for 2020 with the member’s gift of the commemorative Tipperary Supporters dual trolley token proving very attractive. John especially thanked Membership Officer Jim Reidy and committee member Danny O’Connell for their long hours of work on the membership efforts.  John also thanked ex-Tipperary player Mark O’Leary and his company Irish Web HQ for their great support during the year.

The following officers were appointed: Terry O’Neill, Chair; Billy Coman, Secretary; Michael Power, Treasurer (automatic re-appointment); Bryan Maher, Assistant Treasurer; John Coman, PRO; and Jim Reidy, Membership Officer.

Terry O’Neill invited John Devane, Chair of the County Board to address the meeting.  John Devane thanked the Supporters Club for being a vital element in the Tipperary Hurling set up.  He commented on the great co-operation between the County Board and the Tipperary Supporters Club in their work. Michael Fenton on behalf of Liam Myles, President, Tipperary Association Dublin (who could not be present) also congratulated the Club and assured it of every support from the Tipperary Association, Dublin. Also present at the meeting were Joe Kennedy, County Board Vice-Chair; Michael Power, County Board Treasurer; Tim Floyd, County Board Secretary; and Joe Bracken, PRO, County Board.

Chair Terry O’Neill welcomed Liam Sheedy and Brian Hogan to the meeting.  Liam Sheedy, Senior Team Bainisteoir, addressed the meeting and thanked the Tipperary Supporters Club for their invaluable help which was an integral part of the Tipperary team’s preparation. Liam emphasised the importance of the team being closely connected with the Tipperary Supporters and that the Tipperary Supporters Club had a key role to play in that. Liam said he was delighted to launch the Tipperary Supporters Club Membership 2020, see details below, and he urged all Tipperary Supporters to join up.



Tipperary Supporters Club Membership 2020

The 2020 Tipperary Supporters Club Membership was officially launched on the night and, in addition to the membership gift of the special Tipperary Supporters dual trolley token, other features of membership were a special car sticker, membership card and draws for 5 pairs of stand tickets to each of Tipperary’s Munster and All-Ireland SH Championship games as well as entry in the Team Mascot competition for Home matches in the Allianz Hurling League and a vote to decide on the Tipperary Senior Hurler of the Year. Details of all prize winners are on tippsupportersclub.com and many members joined on line there. The direct debit payment option is encouraged by the committee, which saves greatly on administration and costs, a major point for any organisation which relies totally on voluntary effort.  Just log on to tippsupportersclub.com/join/ to get the direct debit form.

Members are entitled to a selection of great discounts.   Louis Fitzgerald has kindly provided a very attractive 10% discount on accommodation at the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, Naas Road, Dublin for Tipperary Supporters Club members, log on to tippsupportersclub.com/join/discounts/ for further details on this and other discounts.  Another very popular feature of the membership package is the use of social media, email and texting of team announcements as soon as they are made which means that Tipperary Supporters Club members get the team news in to their hand wherever they are in Ireland or abroad.  If joining by post please send a cheque or postal order for €40 payable to Tipperary Supporters Club to Jim Reidy, 13 Castleknock Close, Dublin 15.

We want to extend the membership base further and we would urge all supporters to join our Team Tipperary fund raising effort by making contact with Supporters Club Membership Officer, Jim Reidy on 086-3580718 or by email at info@tippsupportersclub.com.  Also, we would like to make a special appeal to Tipperary Supporters living abroad who could connect us to other supporters in places like London, Dubai, Australia, USA and Canada or elsewhere to contact us. This is the direct link to join on line: http://www.tippsupportersclub.com/join/adult-members/


Tipperary Supporters Club, Supporting Tipperary Hurling

Comments are closed.