Dear Tipperary Supporter

From tipperary GAA Scene
Congratulations to Thurles Sarsfields on their 2-10 to 0-11 victory over Kilmallock in the AIB Munster Club semi-final at Kilmallock on Sunday last. For a match report go to . They now go on to play De La Salle of Waterford in the Munster Final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh on Sunday November 28.

From tipperary GAA Scene
Our best wishes also go to Borrisokane in the AIB Munster Intermediate Club Hurling Final against Ballymartle of Cork at Pairc na nGael Limerick at 2pm on Sunday next, November 21. Borrisokane are seeking to be the first Tipperary team to win the Munster Intermediate Hurling title since their neighbouring club, Kildangan, won the inaugural provincial championship in 2004.

Good luck to St. Patrick’s of Drangan and Cloneen for the AIB Munster Club Junior Hurling semi-final against Ballydurn of Waterford at Walsh Park, Waterford at 2pm on Sunday next, November 21. Moyle Rovers in 2007 were the last Tipperary club to win this championship.

GAA Season Tickets 2011

Season Tickets for 2011 did not go on sale as planned due to technical difficulties. According to the Ticket Office in Croke Park they will go on sale next Wednesday 24 November on . Keep in touch with that website for updates.


Congratulations to outstanding former Tipperary hurler, Mick Roche (Carrick Davins) on the announcement that he will be inducted into the Munster Hall of Fame at the Munster Council annual awards ceremony at the Malton Hotel Killarney on Saturday, November 27. Mick won 3 All Ireland senior hurling championship medals and has always been regarded as one of the finest players ever to wear the blue and gold. Well done also to Michael Dundon, Editor of the Tipperary Star, who won the Media award and to Tom Collum (JK Brackens) who won the Education award for his work with schools GAA. The Munster Awards scheme was inaugurated in 1998 and is sponsored by Bord Gáis Energy.

Interview with Lar Corbett by Eugene Ryan, Tipperary Supporters Club Junior Member
To read the interview, which was published in the programme for the Tipperary SH Final go to .


A commemoration will take place in Grangemockler on this Sunday November 21 to mark the 90th anniversary of the death of Michael Hogan in Croke Park on Sunday November 21 1920, the day that became known as Bloody Sunday. Following 10am Mass in Grangemockler Church a wreath laying ceremony will take place at Michael Hogan’s grave followed by an oration by former Chairman of South Tipperary GAA Board, Michael Egan. The ceremonies will conclude with a rendering of the Ballad of Michael Hogan by local clubman, Ned Hanrahan. The Clubs of the County are asked to mark the occasion by being present with their Club banner.

Tipperary Association, Dublin Annual Mass and “Conversation”
The Association’s annual mass for deceased members and deceased family and friends will be held in the The Upper Rooms, Palace Bar, Fleet Street on Tuesday 30 November 2010 at 7.30 pm. The mass will be celebrated by Fr. John O’Brien after which light refreshments will be served. The evening will be concluded with a “Conversation” with John Tierney, Dublin City Manager and Chairman, Tipperary Supporters Club. The Association is grateful to the Aherne family for kindly agreeing to make the premises available for the occasion.


In keeping with the national GAA policy of having a strategic plan for development of the Association at national, provincial and county level, Tipperary GAA is in the process of developing a strategic vision and action plan to guide the GAA in Tipperary over the next 5 to 10 years. This plan will focus on 10 main areas – Fixtures Planning; Social Inclusion and Integration; Club, Culture and Community; Planning and Officer Support; Volunteerism; Finance; Urbanisation and Rural Development; Games Development; Facilities and Infrastructure; and Communications, Marketing and Public Relations. If anybody wishes to make suggestions in relation to the content of the Strategic Plan, please email before Saturday November 27.


Congratulations to all the Sean Ghael Awards recipients who were presented with their awards by guest of honour, His Grace Dr. Dermot Clifford, Archbishop of Cashel and Emly at a function in the Dome at Semple Stadium on Sunday evening last. Micheál Ó Meara was MC for the proceedings and the speakers included Dr. Clifford, Barry O’Brien, Chairman Tipperary County Board, and special guest Eoin Kelly. John Ryan (Holycross Ballycahill) responded on behalf of the 33 recipients. Well done to the organising committee chaired by John Costigan and also comprising Micheál Ó Meara (Runai), Seamus King, Noel Morris, Pat Moroney and Seamus McCarthy. This was the eighth year of the Sean Ghael Awards, which recognise and honour the contributions of the older generation to the development and growth of the GAA in Tipperary over many decades at club, county and national level and in playing and administrative roles. The late John Moloney of Galtee Rovers was the first chairman of the Sean Ghael Committee.


Ardfinnan GAA Club will hold their Centenary Dinner Dance in Cahir House Hotel on Saturday November 27 at 8pm. The guests on the night will include the captains of the eight county championship winning teams and the special guest speaker will be Kerry legend, Dara Ó Sé. It promises to be a night to remember. A four course meal will be provided with music by the Paddies with disco to follow. A bus will be provided for anyone seeking transport costing €5 return. Tickets for dinner dance are available at a cost of €40 and are available from club secretary, Willie Barrett 086 8336505 or any committee member.


The great success of the Tipperary Senior and Under 21 Hurling Teams is being marked with the Outstanding Achievement Award at this year’s Canon Hayes National Sports Awards Ceremony. In making their selection for the Outstanding Achievement Award the Judging Panel are recognising the outstanding skill, dedication and commitment shown by the Tipperary Senior Hurling Team in 2010, which culminated in them, capturing the 2010 All-Ireland Title. The citation from the Judging Panel says that “The Kilkenny drive-for-five was derailed by a powerful Tipperary side who gloriously carved their own niche in hurling history to bring the Liam MacCarthy Cup back to the Premier County. Along with the success of the senior team there was added glory when the Under 21 side powered to victory over Galway six days later to ensure that Tipperary, for the first time since 1989, completed the Senior and Under-21 double”. Accordingly the Judging Panel is therefore delighted to recognise the Tipperary Senior and Under 21 Hurling Teams with the 2010 Canon Hayes Outstanding Achievement Award. The Award will be presented at a Gala Ceremony at Ballykisteen Hotel and Golf Resort on Saturday November 27. Tickets for the Awards Ceremony can be reserved at the Canon Hayes Sports Centre on 062-52022. Tickets are priced at €50 each and Dress for the event is Black Tie. Tipperary Senior Footballer and Munster winning U.21 Football Captain, Ciarán McDonald is shortlisted in the category of Local Award. The winner of this category will be announced on the night.

Harty Cup Quarter Finals
To see the quarter final qualifiers go to .

Shop online at the Tipperary GAA Merchandise Shop

Please pass on this email to your friends.

Keep up with all the news on and .

Ar aghaidh le Tiobraid Árann.

John Coman
Public Relations Officer
Tipperary Supporters Club

To unsubscribe from this email list, just send an email to that effect to

Leave a Reply