Motions to change the county senior hurling championship were deferred for consideration in January at November’s county board meeting last week. Changes have been agreed to the senior football championship and the intermediate hurling championship. Full details of all changes will be circulated to clubs and will be available on the Tipperary website in due course. In summary the senior football championship will be run on a group basis with the intention of reducing the number of clubs participating to a maximum of 16 by 2017. The divisional championships will be on a straight knock-out basis. The intermediate hurling championship will be run on a county wide group basis with Divisions left to organise their own divisional championships. The divisional winners will be guaranteed a place in the preliminary quarter-finals. Relegation will be used if needed to keep the maximum number of teams to 24.






The Annual County Convention will be held at The Dome, Semple Stadium on Monday, December 17. No officer positions are being contested. The 5 year term of Nicholas Moroney (St. Patrick’s) as Coaching and Games Development Officer is up and the sole nominee to succeed him is John Smith of Thurles Sarsfields, who is the current Youth Officer. The Youth Officer is appointed rather than elected and a successor to John will be appointed in due course. The following motions have been submitted for Convention: 1) Deals with amendments to bye-laws to be consistent with the Official Guide and will be circulated in full to clubs and put on the website. 2) That host clubs provide linesmen for all games at their venue (Cill Náile); 3) That all County Hurling and Football Leagues, ie Senior, Intermediate and Junior be completed by Sept 1st each year. (Cluain Uí Chionnaith); 4) That all players in all grades to remove helmets for playing of National Anthem. (Luachmagh-Caisleán Laighnigh); 5) Amend Co Bye Law dealing with Sub Committees Functions & Constitution and the Administration & Marketing Workgroup as follows; Change the name of the Committee to “Tipperary GAA Co Board Administration & Merchandising Committee”. The constitution of the committee will be a maximum of 8 including a chairman nominated by the Co Chairman plus the Co Secretary (who will act as secretary to the committee), the Co Chairman, Ass Co Treasurer, representative of Lar na Páirce Teo, and three more appointed by the Co Chairman and approved by the co committee. The functions of the committee will include; (a). Supervising the operations of Lár na Páirce, the GAA Shop and associated merchandising. (b). the oversight of all staff paid through the offices of Lar na Pairce including salaries, job contracts, job description and conditions of employment. (Teampall Doire); 6) Change Co Bye Law dealing with Transfers part (a) to read; The 30th of April is the closing date for receipt of transfer applications between clubs within the county of Tipperary ” (Teampall Uachtar Drombán); 7) Amend Co Bye Law No 2 (ii) dealing with the constitution of the Co Competitions Control Committee, from “two named officers from the four divisions” to “the chairman from each of the four divisions plus one of the secretary or treasurer”. (Cill Sioláin & Cill Chais); 8) Amend Co Bye Law dealing with Meetings part 4 to read; “An Choiste Chontae shall meet eight times during each year” and not at least once a month, as at present.(Tulach Sheasta)






The Annual Convention of the Tipperary Football Board will take place on Tuesday, December 11 at the Anner Hotel, Thurles at 8pm. All clubs are asked to send delegates to the meeting. Noel Morris (Borrisokane) is standing down as Chairman having served his 5 year term. The nominees are as follows: Chairman: outgoing Vice Chairman, Joe Hannigan (Shannon Rovers) and outgoing Secretary, Michael Power (Newcastle); Secretary: Michael Power, JJ Crowley (Grangemockler Ballyneale) and Micheál McCormack (Fethard); Vice Chairman: Joe Hannigan and Hugh Coghlan (Moyne Templetuohy); PRO: Hugh Coghlan (outgoing); Tommy Fitzgerald (Solohead) and PJ Leahy (Moyne Templetuohy).







If you are still wondering what to buy GAA fans for Christmas consider the GAA Season Ticket and the Tipperary GAA Club Match Pass. For just €200, the new 2013 Premier Gold Plus Package will give access to all adult club games within the county organized by the Tipperary County and Divisional CCC’s. In addition it incorporates the GAA Season Ticket which gives access to all Allianz League matches in the chosen code (including semi-finals and final) plus the opening Championship fixture for Tipperary SH or SF. After that Pay for Play applies for your county’s additional games in the championship in that code with a €5 discount off face value. For championship games the Season Ticket is in a reserved good quality seating section e.g. 304 or 305 in the Cusack Stand in Croke Park. If you have already purchased a GAA Season Ticket you can pay an additional €115 for the Tipperary GAA Club Match Pass. If you want to pay by credit card or order a copy of the brochure and application form contact Lár na Páirce 0504-22702 .






A Youth Forum for Transition Year students organised by the County Youth Committee was held last Friday in The Dome, Semple Stadium. Over fifty students from ten post primary schools participated and they gave excellent feedback from the workshops that discussed a number of topics including Games, GAA and the Community, Clubs, Match Days, Communication and Information Technology. The feedback will be posted on the Tipperary GAA Website and a report will be submitted to the County Board with a view to implementation, where feasible, of some of the ideas and suggestions received from the students. Sean Nugent, County Chairman, addressed the forum and Ken Hogan, Tipperary Under 21 Hurling Manager and Pat Mulcahy, County ASAP Officer gave  informative presentations. Thanks are due to John Smith, County Youth Officer, all those that assisted on the day and also to the Post Primary Schools who facilitated us by allowing their students to attend.







The county final of the Primary Schools Table Quiz organised by the County Youth Committee will be held this Sunday in Thurles Sarsfields Clubhouse at 7pm. Twenty teams will take part in this very popular quiz . Last year’s winners were Upperchurch N.S.







Tipperary County Board would like to thank Tipperary North and South County Councils for hosting a joint Civic Reception recently to honour the Tipperary Minor Hurlers and the Tipperary Intermediate Hurlers on their All Ireland successes in 2012 and the Tipperary Handballers on their successes in the recent World Handball Championships held at Citywest, Dublin.














To read this week’s Westside Column go to www.tippsupportersclub.com  .

Please pass on this email to your friends.


Keep up with all the news on www.tippsupportersclub.com, www.tipperary.gaa.ie, www.hoganstand.com and www.munster.gaa.ie.

Ar aghaidh le Tiobraid Árann.

John Coman
Public Relations Officer
Tipperary Supporters Club

Twitter: @TippSupporters

Facebook: www.facebook.com/TippSupportersClub


Comments are closed.