Good luck to Thurles Sarsfields for their AIB Munster Club Hurling championship quarter final against Kilmallock in Kilmallock at 2pm next Sunday, October 28. The game will be refereed by Colm Lyons of Cork who will be familiar to many Tipperary followers having been in charge of both the Munster minor hurling final and the drawn All Ireland minor hurling final this year. Admission prices are: Adults – €15; Student/OAP – €10 with all Under 16s free. Extra time will be played in the event of a draw. The winners play Sarsfields (Cork) in the Munster Club Semi-Final on Sunday November 11 at a Tipperary or Cork venue. The last meeting of these teams in the Munster club championship was on November 14 2010 at Kilmallock when Thurles Sarsfields defeated Kilmallock by 2-10 to 0-11 in their semi-final clash. Goals by Lar Corbett and sub Michael O’Brien helped Thurles Sarsfields to a hard earned five point victory after the sides were level at 0-6 to 0-6 at half-time. The last home victory by the Limerick club champions came in 2008 courtesy of Adare’s 1-11 to 0-10 victory over Toomevara. Since 2008, the Tipperary Club Senior Hurling champions have won only 1 out of their 5 games played with Thurles Sarsfields’ victory over Kilmallock in 2010 being the only success.










Best wishes also to Silvermines for their AIB Munster Club Intermediate Hurling championship quarter final against Ruan of Clare at Sixmilebridge next Sunday October 28 at 1pm. The referee will be Shane Hourigan of Limerick. The winners play An Rinn (Waterford) in the Munster Club Semi-Final on Sunday November 4 at 2pm in a Tipperary or Waterford venue. Admission Prices for Sunday are Adults – €10; Student/OAP – €5 with all Under 16s free. Clare clubs have lost their last 3 matches in this competition. With the exception of Borrisokane in 2010, no Tipperary Intermediate Hurling champions have recorded a victory in this grade dating back to 2005.  For further details go to www.tipperary.gaa.ie








The 2013 Tipperary GAA Yearbook is being compiled at present and the Yearbook committee is seeking articles and information for inclusion. Clubs that have accomplished any unique achievement in 2012 such as winning a major title for the first time, achieving a double, opening new dressing rooms or a new grounds, etc are requested to send through an appropriate article for inclusion. The Yearbook committee are looking to all clubs to submit any obituaries of their deceased members in the last 12 months. The maximum number of words for an obituary is 150 and please include the club name and the years also, e.g. 1935-2012, as well as his/her GAA achievements and a photograph of the deceased person. The deadline for sending information is November 1. Please e-mail information and photographs (which must be named) to John Smith, Secretary Tipperary Yearbook Committee atyearbook.tipperary@gaa.ie. Photographs can also be posted to John Smith c/o Tipperary GAA Office, Slievenamon Road, Thurles. Please note information must be submitted as outlined above and all articles, photographs etc will be acknowledged. If an acknowledgement is not received please contact the Yearbook Secretary at 087-9960710.








Two first half goals helped Limerick to a commanding 2-10 to 0-6 victory over an under strength Tipperary side at Mick Neville Park Rathkeale on Monday evening in the Munster Under 17 Football competition. Clare defeated Waterford by 1-19 to 1-3 in a match played at Dr. Morris Park, also on Monday. These results guarantee Limerick a place in the final for the Daryl Darcy Cup on the Bank Holiday Monday October 29th. The other finalist will be determined on this Friday when Tipperary host Clare at 7:30pm in Dr. Morris Park Thurles. The winner will qualify for the Cup Final while the loser will play Waterford in the Shield Final, also on Monday next.









Congratulations to Moycarkey-Borris on capturing their second ever County Intermediate Football title thanks to a 2-9 to 1-8 victory over Upperchurch-Drombane at Holycross on Saturday. Moycarkey led by 2-6 to 1-6 at the interval courtesy of goals by Paudie Doran and Pat Molloy. There was little between the sides in the second half with scores at a premium as Moycarkey-Borris held out for a deserved four point victory. Afterwards, Tipperary Football Board Chairman Noel Morris presented the cup to the Moycarkey-Borris captain and goalkeeper Daniel Kirby. Moycarkey’s previous title in this grade came in 1980 when captained by Harry Mulhaire. Moycarkey-Borris now join Loughmore-Castleiney, JK Brackens, Killenaule, Carrick Swan, Mullinahone and Eire Og Annacarty as the only dual Senior clubs in the county for 2013. Moycarkey-Borris will represent Tipperary in the Munster Club Intermediate Football Championship when they play the Cork champions (St. Michael’s or St. Vincent’s) at a Cork venue on Sunday November 4th.









The London Tipperary Association celebrated its 60th Anniversary in the kind of style its supporters and many guests have become so accustomed to for six decades at the Crown Moran Hotel in Cricklewood last Saturday evening – Otober 20. Once again GAA silverware was the centrepiece of a hugely successful and memorable occasion as the Association’s inimitable Life President Tom Milne and Chairman Johnny Whyte welcomed just over two hundred and fifty guests to the hotel’s Bentley Suite. All four of Tipperary’s victorious captains minor Bill Maher (hurling), Dylan Fitzelle (football), Eddie Connolly (intermediate hurling) and Mullinahone’s Paul Curran (senior hurling) were present accompanied by former All-Star senior hurler Eoin Kelly, victorious All-Ireland minor hurling manager, William Maher and Tipperary senior hurler Tom Stapleton also made a surprise appearance as part of the visiting Carey Glass party from Nenagh. Patron Sean Fogarty, former County and Munster Council Chairman, once again made the annual trip to London to honour the London Tipperary Association’s notable milestone.  For a full report and to view photographs go to www.tipperary.gaa.ie








The Canon Hayes National Sports Awards Committee (Tipperary) has announced that they are now accepting nominations for the 2012 Awards. Members of the public along with representatives of clubs or sporting organisations are invited to submit nominations for the Awards. All persons nominated should be over the age of 16 years and the nomination should relate to achievements in the past 12 months. A brief resume of the nominees sporting achievements should be submitted along with the nomination to: Sports Awards Committee, Canon Hayes Recreation Centre, Avondale Crescent, Tipperary Town, to arrive on or before Friday November 2 or to e-mail: martinquinns@eircom.net. All nominations will be considered by the judging panels and a shortlist of nominees will be announced in mid November. The Awards are open to all sporting disciplines and the committee are looking forward to receiving many nominations for the respective categories. There are 2 awards (Local and County) which are for Tipperary nominees and 2 awards (National and Outstanding Achievement) which are for nominees who have excelled on the national/international stage. The Awards will be presented at a Gala Black Tie Banquet by Minister for Sport, Michael Ring, TD, on Saturday November 24, 2012 and shortlisted nominees are required to be in attendance.










To read this week’s Westside Column go to www.tippsupportersclub.com  .

Please pass on this email to your friends.


Keep up with all the news on www.tippsupportersclub.com, www.tipperary.gaa.ie, www.hoganstand.com and www.munstergaa.ie.

Ar aghaidh le Tiobraid Árann.

John Coman
Public Relations Officer
Tipperary Supporters Club

Twitter: @TippSupporters

Facebook: www.facebook.com/TippSupportersClub

Comments are closed.