New York Hurling Classic semi-final

New York Hurling Classic semi-final 


By Shane O’Brien at Citi Field

Kilkenny gained some small revenge for their All Ireland defeat by inflicting a 50-point hammering over Tipperary in the second semi-final of the New York Hurling Classic in Citi Field.

After a relatively close first half, the Cats moved through the gears and mercilessly demolished the All Ireland champions with a ruthless display of finishing.

Kilkenny started the stronger and raced into an eight-point lead inside two minutes thanks to a brace from Billy Ryan.

Jake Morris replied for Tipperary with a four-pointer, but Alan Murphy goaled from a corner to give the Cats a 10-point lead.

Jason Forde rifled home to bring Tipp back within touching distance before a deft finish from Mikey Carey restored Kilkenny’s 10-point buffer.

The sides traded scores once more through Walter Walsh and Seamus Callanan before a terrific solo effort from Ryan sent the cats in with a 14-point lead at the break.

The second half saw Kilkenny move through several gears and score from all angles with Ger Alylward, Billy Ryan and Walter Walsh to the fore.

Tipperary simply had no answer to the Cats’ relentless attacks and the beaten All Ireland finalists seemed to be able to score at their leisure as they booked their place in the New York Hurling Classic final.

Scorers for Kilkenny: Billy Ryan 20, Ger Alylward 18 (1 pen), Walter Walsh 12, Richie Leahy 8, James Maher 8, Liam Blanchfield 6 (1 pen), Alan Murphy 6, Mikey Carey 4, Conor Browne 4.

Scorers for Tipperary: Seamus Callanan 14 (1 pen), Jason Forde 10, Cian Darcy 4, Michael Breen 4, Jake Morris 4.

Kilkenny: Eoin Murphy; Niall Brassil, Paddy Deegan, Conor Fogarty, Liam Blanchfield, Richie Leahy, Alan Murphy, Jason Cleere, James Maher, Walter Walsh, Billy Ryan, Cillian Buckley, Ger Alylward, Enda Morrissey, Mikey Carey, Darren Brennan, Michael Cody, Luke Scanlon, Conor Browne, Ciarán Wallace.

Tipperary: Barry Hogan; Michael Breen, Robert Byrne, Seamus Callanan, Jerome Cahill, Paddy Cadell, Willie Connors, Cian Darcy, Jason Forde, Paul Flynn, Mark Kehoe, Noel McGrath, Brian McGrath, Jake Morris, Jamie Moloney, Paul Maher, Craig Morgan, Sean O’Brien, Killian O’Dwyer, Bryan O’Mara, Dillon Quirke, Jason Ryan, Cairbre O’Caireallain.

Comments are closed.