Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi Final – Limerick 1-17 Tipperary 0-17

Electric Ireland Munster Minor Hurling Championship Semi Final – Limerick 1-17 Tipperary 0-17


Lynch-inspired Limerick tame Tipp for final spot

By Jackie Cahill for the Irish Examiner newspaper

Tipperary 0-17 Limerick 1-17

JULY 14 at the Gaelic Grounds could be a green-letter day for Limerick hurling as the county’s minor hurlers ensured that they’ll stand alongside the seniors on Munster final day. Brian Ryan’s efficient minor outfit ended Tipperary’s reign as Electric Ireland Munster and All-Ireland minor champions in front of 3,314 spectators in Thurles last evening. And now Limerick can claim championship victories over Tipp in both the senior and minor grades this summer. That’s no mean feat – particularly when you take into account Limerick haven’t contested a Munster minor hurling final since 2005, and haven’t won one since way back in 1984.

But Limerick hurling appears to be on the rise again and a powerful second-half display was good enough to account for a Tipp side that lined out with four players who started against Dublin in last year’s All-Ireland final replay. But when Limerick turned up the heat in the second-half, on a glorious evening for hurling, Tipp had no answers. The hosts did lead at half-time 0-12 to 0-10 and that advantage was stretched to four by the 34th minute. But leading scorer Ronan Lynch kick started a run of six points without reply to turn the game on its head and in the final 20 minutes, Limerick outscored Tipp 1-7 to 0-3. The crucial score was the 53rd minute penalty that separated the teams at full-time. A deserved award if you’re a Limerick fan, harsh if your glasses were blue and gold tinted.

Thomas Morrissey, a 44th minute sub, did brilliantly to fetch a long delivery and when he came to ground, he was swallowed up by a couple of Tipp defenders. It seemed like an eternity as punters waited for referee Damien Fox to deliver his verdict and when he did, the Clare official decided to ignore Tipp claims that Morrissey was barging. Lynch, scorer of 1-7, found the net and Limerick never looked back from there. The goal, incidentally, came less than a minute after Tipp had ended an 18-minute barren spell in the second-half, when Josh Keane pointed.

Keane, scorer of 2-9 when Tipp beat Waterford in the quarter-final 11 weeks ago, was one of the pivotal players before half-time. He scored 0-4, including three frees, in that first half as opposing centre forwards David Dempsey and Colin O’Riordan illuminate proceedings. Dempsey scored three points, O’Riordan four, and some of the clean catching produced by the pair was worthy of the admission fee. And it was Dempsey who scored arguably the best point of the game in the 20th minute when he volleyed Dean Coleman’s pass first time over the crossbar.

Scorers for Tipperary: J Keane 0-7 (4f), C O’Riordan 0-4, T Fox, W Connors, M McCarthy, S Conlon, C Lanigan & D Quinn 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: R Lynch 1-7 (1-0 pen, 0-6f), D Dempsey 0-4, C Lynch 0-2, B Nash, D Coleman, P Ryan & T Morrissey 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: B Hogan; R Mulcahy, J Ryan, D Peters; T Fox, R Maher, B Heffernan; W Connors, T Kirwan; C Lanigan, C O’Riordan, S Conlon; M McCarthy, J Keane, S Ryan.

Subs: T Nolan for Conlon (42), D Quinn for Lanigan (48), A Tierney for Peters (51), F O’Sullivan for Connors (57).

LIMERICK: C Ryan; J Porter, R English, S Finn; S Ryan, A La Touche Cosgrave, S Flanagan; J Butler, D Donovan; B Nash, R Lynch, C Lynch; D Coleman, D Dempsey, P Ryan.

Subs: G Whelan for Butler (39), T Morrissey for P Ryan (44).

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

Limerick dethrone Tipp with Munster minor semi-final victory

Tipperary 0-17 Limerick 1-17

Report by Jackie Cahill for

LIMERICK HAVE ENDED Tipperary’s reign as Electric Ireland Munster and All-Ireland minor hurling champions in this evening’s provincial semi-final. The Shannonsiders scored a fully-merited three-point victory against William Maher’s hosts at Semple Stadium to book a place in a first Munster minor final since 2005. On 14 July, Limerick will hope to capture the provincial minor crown for the first time since 1984 – when they face Waterford in the showpiece decider.

Limerick, managed by Brian Ryan from South Liberties, produced an accomplished second half display in front of 3314 spectators in Thurles. And Limerick’s hurling revolution continues apace as this result follows the senior team’s victory over Tipperary in the recent Munster semi-final. Ultimately, it was an impressive run of scores that got the job done for Limerick, who were playing their first game in this year’s championship this evening. Tipp had a match against Waterford under their belts but they hadn’t played a competitive game for almost eleven weeks.

Ronan Lynch scored 1-7 for Limerick – including six frees and the 53rd minute penalty that ultimately separated the sides. Tipp went 0-14 to 0-10 in front four minutes after half-time but in the final 20 minutes, Limerick outscored the home side by 1-7 to 0-3. A run of six unanswered points put them two points clear – 0-16 to 0-14 – as Tipp went 18 minutes without a score before leading scorer Josh Keane converted a free. Then came the crucial moment in the game as sub Thomas Morrissey was awarded a penalty, despite home protests that the Ahane player was charging as he was swallowed up by two defenders.

Referee Damien Fox awarded the penalty and Lynch converted to put Limerick, who had scoring contributions from their six starting forwards, firmly in the driving seat. Tipp, lining out with four of the starting team from last year’s All-Ireland final replay, paid a heavy price for eight second half wides, after Limerick had registered six before half-time. During that opening half, opposing centre forwards David Dempsey and Colin O’Riordan played some brilliant hurling, with Tipp player O’Riordan hitting four points from play to Dempsey’s three. On a perfect evening for hurling, Tipperary led by 0-12 to 0-10 at the end of an excellent first half. The sides were level at 0-10 apiece before O’Riordan’s fourth point and a Keane free left two between them at the break.

Scorers for Tipperary: Josh Keane 0-7 (4f), Colin O’Riordan 0-4, Tom Fox, Willie Connors, Mark McCarthy, Sam Conlon, Conor Lanigan & Donnacha Quinn 0-1 each.

Scorers for Limerick: Ronan Lynch 1-7 (1-0 pen, 0-6f), David Dempsey 0-4, Cian Lynch 0-2, Barry Nash, Dean Coleman, Patrick Ryan & Thomas Morrissey 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: Brian Hogan (Lorrha and Dorrha); Ross Mulcahy (Moyle Rovers), Jason Ryan (Toomevara), Darragh Peters (Kilruane MacDonaghs); Tom Fox (Éire Óg Annacarty), Ronan Maher (Thurles Sarsfields), Barry Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg); Willie Connors (Kildangan), Tom Kirwan (Ballybacon Grange); Conor Lanigan (Thurles Sarsfields), Colin O’Riordan (JK Brackens), Sam Conlon (Roscrea); Mark McCarthy (Toomevara), Josh Keane (Golden/Kilfeacle), Sean Ryan (Sean Treacys).

Subs: Tommy Nolan (Drom & Inch) for Conlon (42), Donnacha Quinn (Nenagh Éire Óg) for Lanigan (48), Austin Tierney (Shannon Rovers) for Peters (51), Fionan O’Sullivan (Skeheenarinky) for Connors (57).

LIMERICK: Colin Ryan (Pallasgreen); Jamie Porter (Monaleen), Richard English (Doon), Sean Finn (Bruff); Stephen Ryan (Doon), Andrew La Touche Cosgrave (Monaleen), Sean Flanagan (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon); Jamie Butler (Feoghanagh/Castlemahon), Darragh Donovan (Doon); Barry Nash (South Liberties), Ronan Lynch (Na Piarsaigh), Cian Lynch (Patrickswell); Dean Coleman (Doon), David Dempsey (Na Piarsaigh), Pat Ryan (Doon).

Subs: Graham Whelan (Bruff) for Butler (39), Thomas Morrissey (Ahane) for Patrick Ryan (44).

Referee: Damien Fox (Clare)

Comments are closed.