Kenny on song as Tipp prepare for Limerick IT

Kenny on song as Tipp prepare for Limerick IT

Tipperary 3-18 Offaly 1-10



Tipperary manager Eamon O’Shea

06 JANUARY 2014  Irish Independent

EAMON O’Shea’s Tipperary warmed up for next Sunday’s Waterford Crystal Cup opener against Limerick IT with a comfortable 14-point victory in this challenge match in Moneygall

Wind-assisted in the first half, Tipp were 2-9 to 0-6 clear at the break as Conor Kenny and David Collins struck for well-taken goals.

Kenny impressed once again in attack and John ‘Bubbles’ O’Dwyer matched the former Kildare player’s 1-5 haul.

Shane Bourke also showed up well up front for Tipperary, as Noel McGrath pulled the strings at midfield.

Last year’s captain Shane McGrath, a former All Star midfielder, lined out at right half-back and hurled solidly.

Offaly failed to register a score from play until Peter Geraghty pointed in the 44th minute, with Joe Bergin hitting all six of the Faithful County’s first-half points from placed balls.

Offaly struck for a 48th-minute goal when Tomas Geraghty beat James Logue comfortably from close range and while that strike cut the deficit to six points — 1-7 to 2-10 — Tipp hit back to run out comprehensive winners.

With six minutes remaining, O’Dwyer scored Tipperary’s third goal to put the issue beyond any doubt.

Scorers — Tipperary: C Kenny, J O’Dwyer (2fs) 1-5 each, D Collins 1-1, S Bourke, C O’Brien 0-2 each, N McGrath, S Kennedy, P Murphy 0-1 each. Offaly: J Bergin 0-6fs, T Geraghty 1-0, P Geraghty 0-2, S Cleary, B Carroll 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY — J Logue; P Stapleton, C O’Mahony, J Peters; S McGrath, J Barry, T Treacy; N McGrath, S Kennedy; D Collins, J O’Dwyer, S O’Brien; L McGrath, C Kenny, S Bourke. Subs: P Murphy for L McGrath (30), D Maher for S O’Brien, T Hamill for O’Mahony, C O’Brien for Treacy (all h-t).

OFFALY — C Slevin; C McDonald, S Coughlan, J Rigney; D Egan, D Short, D Morkham; T Carroll, K Brady; S Cleary, J Bergin, P Geraghty; T Geraghty, C Parlon, M Egan. Subs: B Carroll for Bergin, D Kilmartin for T Carroll (both h-t), N Wynne for Coughlan (43), S Gardiner for D Egan (57).

Ref — J Ryan (Tipperary).

Comments are closed.