Hogan fails to overturn his All-Ireland final dismissal

Hogan fails to overturn his All-Ireland final dismissal

Kilkenny hurler Richie Hogan has failed to overturn his All-Ireland final red card against Tipperary. (stock photo)1
Kilkenny hurler Richie Hogan has failed to overturn his All-Ireland final red card against Tipperary. (stock photo)

Kilkenny hurler Richie Hogan has failed to overturn his All-Ireland final red card against Tipperary.

Croke Park yesterday revealed the Central Hearings Committee (CHC) has found the case against Hogan to be “proven” following his pivotal sending-off late in the first half.

The 2014 Hurler of the Year now stands suspended for Kilkenny’s opening fixture in the 2020 Allianz League, although he has the option of appealing the CHC ruling to the Central Appeals Committee (CAC).

Hogan was dismissed by Wexford referee James Owens after 33 minutes of this year’s showpiece, following a high challenge on Tipp defender Cathal Barrett.

He was duly reported for “behaving in any way which is dangerous to an opponent”.

Hogan vehemently protested his innocence – and again in an Newstalk interview later that week.

“I was going in for a shoulder on Cathal Barrett, he stepped inside and my momentum took me through. In my opinion, there was absolutely no way it was a sending-off,” he told ‘Off The Ball’.

“I was complaining about getting a yellow card, because it was one of those clearly accidental, honest challenges. I just assumed that he had taken the wrong card, to be honest with you.”

His protestations have now fallen on deaf committee ears after the CHC found the infraction proven after a hearing on Monday of this week.

Comments are closed.