Brendan Cummins is Tipperary Person of the Year for 2013

Clann Tiobraid Árann   Baile Átha Cliath Teo


Cummins is Tipperary Person of the Year for 2013


The Tipperary Association Dublin has announced that Brendan Cummins former Tipperary hurling goalkeeper has been selected by the Association as Tipperary Person of the Year for 2013.


Announcing the award the president of the Tipperary Association Dublin, Liam Myles said that “by any standards Brendan Cummins has achieved the highest level of success in his intercounty hurling career wining all the major awards. He established himself as a real role model for any young person in sport with his dedication and professionalism”


Cummins started his intercounty career as a dual player representing Tipperary at minor level in both hurling and football, picking up a Munster medal with the minor hurlers in 1993. He went on to represent the county at Under 21 and, at the age of 18 he became a senior player in both codes. A seriously good footballer he won his first major senior intercounty medal with the footballers winning a McGrath Cup medal in 1994 (delayed from 1993).


He made his championship debut in 1995 with Tipperary hurlers and went on to have tremendous career between the posts for Tipp. 1997 was a heartbreak losing the Munster and All-Ireland finals to Clare.


But his dedication, commitment and utter professional over the next 16 years he achieved all there is to achieve in hurling at county level;


Among his achievements are 2 All-Ireland titles, 5 All-Star Awards, 5 Munster Championship medals, 4 National league medals and 4 Railway Cup medals with Munster, captaining the winning side in 2001.


Of course the highlight was the memorable highlight of winning the 2001 All-Ireland and stopping the “Cats” in the drive for 5” in 2010. The great finals of 2009 and 2010 will be a sporting memory for many people – even outside of Tipperary and Kilkenny. Brendan’s part in those games was, as ever, top drawer. Some of course will remember the many double and treble saves of other days. Many Tipperary people will have great and fond memories of this man’s agility, coolness and assuredness. We are thankful for his contribution to the cause.


At club level he made an enormous contribution too, helping Ballybacon – Grange to 9 South titles at intermediate level – and he is not finished yet! Unfortunately the county title was not to be – so far! He won a south minor and under 21 championship in hurling with Ballybacon-Grange, while he won county championship honours in Under 21 and Senior football with Ardfinnan.


Brendan won the Poc Fada across the Cooley Mountains six times from 2004 – 2102 and before that, along with Ian Scallan of Wexford, he won the Pairs Competition.


Brendan Cummins comes from a family steeped in GAA. His father John (no mean hurling goalkeeper either!) played football at all levels with Tipperary and represented Munster in football. His Grandfather, Johnny Cummins ran the Ardfinnan football club for many years in the 50s and 60s. He also inherited some football blood from his mother Ann’s side.


Brendan Cummins carved out a unique place for himself in GAA history when, in 2011, he smashed the record held by the great Christy Ring for championship appearances.


In conclusion Myles went on to say that “the person selected as the Tipperary Person of the Year represents the county with pride and distinction. If such a person adds a high level of achievement and dedication to the county to that representation then that person deserves to be honoured as Tipperary Person of the Year. Brendan Cummins meets these requirements “in spades” and the Association is proud to name him as Tipperary person of the Year for 2013”.


He thanked Louis Fitzgerald for his generous sponsorship of the Tipperary Person of the Year Award and Diageo for sponsoring the night’s reception.


Brendan Cummins stated that “this is a fantastic award to win – especially as it comes from your own people. I am honoured to be included in the list of greats who been awarded Tipperary person of the Year in the past. It is very nice to get this at the end of a long career and I want to thank the Tipperary Association Dublin very much for selecting me. I am really looking forward to an enjoyable night on the occasion of the presentation of the awards on the 3rd of May next”.





Further information from Liam Myles, President Tel.: 087 2866018 email:


Tickets for the Awards dinner are available from:


Pat Ryan, Honorary Secretary, 11 Foxfield Grove, Raheny, Dublin 5. Tel.: 087 6376663







The Tipperary Association Dublin Ltd.

Comments are closed.