GPA Awards – Tipperary Again Dominate Player Nominations

GAELIC GAMES: THE PLAUDITS keep coming Tipperary’s way following last month’s All-Ireland hurling victory. They dominate the nominations for the Opel/Gaelic Players Association (GPA) hurling team of the year with 14 players in line for selection – the same number nominated for an All Star, of which they won six.

Of the 45 players nominated in total, Kilkenny are next best represented with 12, one more than were nominated for an All Star. There are also nine counties represented in total, including Cork, Waterford, Dublin, Galway, Offaly, Antrim and Clare.

All-Ireland semi-finalists Waterford and Cork both received six and five nominations respectively, while Galway also received five nominations.

The four nominees for the Opel GPA Player of the Year were also announced, and no surprise that Lar Corbett of Tipperary makes it, along with Michael Fennelly of Kilkenny, Brendan Maher of Tipperary and Kilkenny’s Tommy Walsh.

The nominations were drawn up by a selection committee headed up by chairman Donal O’Grady, although the winners will be selected by GPA members across the country – and named at the awards ceremony in Dublin on Friday, November 5th. Each player on the winning team receives €2,500. The chosen hurler and footballer of the year also receive an Opel vehicle to the value of €25,000.

Tipperary also secured yet another award when Séamus Hennessy was selected as Bord Gáis Breaking Through player of the year.

Nominees for Opel GPA Hurling Team of the Year 2010: 1 Brendan Cummins (Tipperary); Gary Maguire (Dublin); Donal Óg Cusack (Cork). 2 Noel Connors (Waterford); John Dalton (Kilkenny); Paddy Stapleton (Tipperary). 3 Eoin Cadogan (Cork); Paul Curran (Tipperary); Shane Kavanagh (Galway). 4 Ollie Canning (Galway); Brian Murphy (Cork); Jackie Tyrell (Kilkenny). 5 Declan Fanning (Tipperary); Tony Browne (Waterford); Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny). 6 Tony Óg Regan (Galway); Ronan Curran (Cork); Michael Walsh (Waterford). 7 Declan Prendergast (Waterford); Padraic Maher (Tipperary); JJ Delaney (Kilkenny). 8/9 Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny); Rory Hannify (Offaly); Brendan Maher (Tipperary); Shane McGrath (Tipperary); Shane O’Sullivan (Waterford); Michael Rice (Kilkenny) 10 Damien Hayes (Galway); TJ Reid (Kilkenny); Gearoid Ryan (Tipperary). 11 Noel McGrath (Tipperary); Neil McManus (Antrim); Henry Sheflin (Kilkenny). 12 Lar Corbett (Tipperary); Eoin Larkin (Kilkenny); Niall McCarthy (Cork). 13 Eoin Kelly (Tipperary); Shane Dooley (Offaly); Darach Honan (Clare). 14 Richie Power (Kilkenny); Joe Canning (Galway); Liam Watson (Antrim). 15 John Mullane (Waterford); Alan McCrabbe (Dublin)/ John O’Brien (Tipperary). Nominees for Opel GPA Player of the Year for Hurling 2010: Lar Corbett (Tipperary); Michael Fennelly (Kilkenny); Brendan Maher (Tipperary); Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny). Nominations for other GPA Player of the Year 2010 Awards – Christy Ring Cup: Joe Clarke (Westmeath); Tom Murnane (Kerry); Jonathan O’Neill (Wicklow); Paul Branniff (Down). Nicky Rackard Cup: Mark Mythen (London); Paul McCormack (Armagh). Lory Meagher Cup: Garret Ghee (Longford); Mark Patton (Donegal).

Leave a Reply