The 46th presentation by Bulmers Ltd of the Annerville Awards (1965 to 2010) took place on Saturday night January 29 at the Minella Hotel, Clonmel. Among the 14 Sports award winners were 5 from the GAA family. The Sean Lyons Sports Executive Award was won by the 2010 Tipperary Senior Hurling Management team. Lar Corbett of Thurles Sarsfields won the hurling award. Clonmel High School received the football award in recognition of one of the greatest days in their proud sporting history when they won their first All-Ireland Gaelic Football Championship at Portarlington last April, beating St. Attracta’s from Tubbercurry in the All-Ireland Colleges Senior B Football Final. The Burgess / Duharra senior team, which won the county final for the first time after a titanic struggle against Toomevara, received the camogie award. Fergal Collins from the Ballina club in North Tipperary won the handball award having once again enjoyed a very successful year, winning both the 40 x 20 and 60 x 30 U-21 All-Ireland Singles titles. Well done to all the award winners on their great achievements.

Leave a Reply