Tipperary’s senior hurlers will embark on their quest for 3 Waterford Crystal Cup titles in a row when they have their first competitive outing of the year against Waterford on the evening of Wednesday January 14th at 7.30pm under lights in St. Molleran’s, Carrick-on-Suir with Declan O’Driscoll of Limerick as referee. This quarter-final clash will be a repeat of last year’s final which Tipperary won by 3-13 to 0-13 in Templemore. Waterford defeated UCC by 1-17 to 2-13 in their preliminary round clash on Sunday last. The UCC team included corner back Shane Walsh (Fethard), midfielder Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) and corner-forward Shane Bourke (JK Brackens – scorer of 1 point). The winners of the Tipp v Waterford game will play either Cork IT or UL in a semi-final on Sunday January 18th.

UL defeated Limerick by 2-14 to 0-15 in Sunday’s preliminary round and their panel includes Ryan O’Dwyer (Cashel King Cormacs – scorer of 3 points), Jim Bob McCarthy (Golden Kilfeacle), James Heffernan (Clonoulty Rossmore), Brian Fox (Éire Óg, Annacarty), Thomas Stapleton (Templederry Kenyons), Paddy McCormack and Michael Gleeson (both Thurles Sarsfields). The Waterford IT team which defeated Kerry by 2-22 to 1-7 included Tipperary players Martin Dunne (Moyle Rovers), Brian Moroney (Aherlow), Timmy Hammersley (Clonoulty-Rossmore – scorer of 5 points), Ray McLoughney (Kilruane MacDonaghs – scorer of 2-2) and Stephen Lillis ( Thurles Sarsfields). 

Courtesy www.tipperarygaa.ie

Leave a Reply