From Tipperary GAA Scene
Tipperary won 4 hurling awards when the 2009 Vodafone GAA All Stars were announced last week. Congratulations to Padraic Maher (full back, 1st award), Conor O’Mahony (left half back, 2nd award), Larry Corbett (right half forward, 1st award) and Noel McGrath (right corner forward, 1st award). Noel was also chosen as Young Hurler of the Year. Noel’s All Star award is the first for a Loughmore Castleiney player and he is also the youngest ever winner of an All Star award being still two months short of his 19th birthday. Eddie Enright was the only previous award winner from Thurles Sarsfields and Larry Corbett and Padraic Maher are the first two non-brothers to bring 2 awards to the same Tipperary club in the one season. Previous dual winners from the same club were Conal and Cormac Bonnar of Cashel King Cormacs (1989 and 1991) and Eoin and Paul Kelly of Mullinahone (2002 and 2005). Conor O’Mahony becomes the first Tipperary player to win awards in successive years since Eoin Kelly won 3 awards in a row between 2004 and 2006.

Leave a Reply