Tipperary’s Edel Hanley wins Football All-Star

Cork dominate Ladies All Stars


By Colm O’Connor

ALL-IRELAND winners Cork dominated the O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All-Star Awards with seven players named on the team of the season at a gala banquet at the CityWest Hotel Saturday night.

Cork captain Angela Walsh collected her fourth award while Elaine Harte, Linda Barrett, Briege Corkery, Brid Stack, Juliet Murphy and Nollaig Cleary were also honoured.

Monaghan were rewarded for their outstanding displays this year with four All Stars.

Intermediate champions Tipperary picked up one All Star – Edel Hanley – while Michaela Downey landed her first award for Down. Senior counties Mayo and Tyrone also picked up a single All Star on the night.

Cumann Peil Gael na mBán also announced that the All Stars would travel to Dubai to play an exhibition match in January. The last Ladies Football All Stars tour was to Singapore in 2006.

The Young Players of the Year Awards went to Dora Gorman (Salthill/Knocknacarra, Galway), Alice Malone (Kileen, Laois), Aine O’Leary (Cil Min, Cork) and Jane Ward (Beragh Red Knights, Tyrone).

O’NEILLS/TG4 LADIES GAELIC FOOTBALL ALL STAR TEAM 2008 E Harte, (Cork) S Courtney, (Monaghan) A Walsh (Cork), L Barrett (Cork), B Corkery (Cork) B Stack (Cork) N Woods (Tyrone) A Casey (Monaghan) J Murphy (Cork) M Downey (Down) N Kindlon (Monaghan) N Cleary (Cork) E Hanley (Tipperary) C Staunton (Mayo) E Byrne (Monaghan),

Leave a Reply