Tipperary win Munster Under 21 Championship

Tipperary beat Clare on the score of 1-16 to 2-12 in tonight’s final in Ennis.

This very tight and well contested game ended in unhappy scenes with some Clare supporters questioning the umpire’s decision which led to the winning point for Tipperary.  That point came from a Pa Bourke 65 which was awarded after the Clare goalie Donal Tuohy was judged to have taken a puck out from outside the small parallelogram during added time.  The infringment was whistled during the stoppage in play after Clare had been awarded a 13 metre free in a central position at the other end of the field.  It was the second time that the Clare netminder had been penalised in that way after a similar incident in the first half which was also converted by Pa Bourke.

In the first half Clare had the upper hand and had two goals scored inside 15 minutes from Caimín Morey and Colin Ryan as the Clare full forward line caused problems for Tipperary.  The half time score was Clare 2-5 to 0-7.

Tipperary’s second half performance improved considerably and the scores were levelled by a Séamus Callanan goal in the 38th minute, who finished as TG4 Man of the Match.  From then to the end, which included 6 minutes of added time, there was no more than one point between the teams.  Both sides threw everything in to the contest including a spectacular full-length block from Tomás Stapleton resulting in a Clare sideline from which they did not score.

Munster Council Chairman presented the Cup to captain Séamus Hennessey for Tipperary’s 17th title.  Tipperary now play the Ulster Champions on August 23rd in the All-Ireland Semi Final.  The other Semi-Final  is scheduled for the same date between Kilkenny and Galway.

Tipperary scores: Séamus Callanan 1-5, Pa Bourke 0-7 (2 65s) (1 free), Séamus Hennessey 0-2 (1 free), Tomas Stapleton 0-1, Shane Bourke 0-1.

Clare scores: Caimín Morey 1-4, Colin Ryan 1-0, Damien Brown 0-3, John Conlon 0-2, Michael O’Connell 0-1, Darach Horan 0-1, Ger Arthur 0-1.

Tipperary subs: Michael Gleeson for Gearóid Ryan (half-time), Joey McLoughney for Shane Bourke (46 minutes), Philip Ivors for Michael Gleeson (55 minutes).  

Clare subs: Colin Tierney for Seán Collins (44 minutes), Patrick Kelly for Michael O’Connell (49 minutes), Michael O’Connell for Caimín Morey (60 minutes).

Leave a Reply