Tipperary v Dublin Challenge Result

SH Challenge game

Tipperary 1-20 Dublin 1-17

Round-up by Ed Donnelly

Tipperary defeated Dublin in a lively Senior Hurling challenge game on Saturday evening to mark the official opening of the impressive St.
Brigid’s GAA complex in Castleknock Dublin. Both teams gave their fringe players an opportunity to shine but it was the home side who came out of the blocks quickest and they led by 0-6 to 0-2 after ten minutes.
Tipperary’s play was nervous up to this point but a focus on more direct hurling paid dividends and during a ten minute spell, they outscored Dublin by 1-7 to 0-0 with Micheal Webster scoring the goal to take a commanding six point lead. The teams were even enough for the rest of the half with both teams missing chances and by the interval, Tipperary led by 1-12 to 0-11.

The tempo reduced somewhat in the second half as both Liam Sheedy and Anthony Daly made changes and this affected the workload of the scoreboard operator. Tipperary were still doing enough to keep their noses in front however and by the end of the third quarter, the Premier County led by 1-15 to 0-15. Seamus Callanan had now made an appearance for the Tipperary team and he made an immediate impact, scoring two points from play and adding two more from placed balls including a rasping penalty shot which hit the crossbar. Dublin trailed by five points as the end of normal time approached only for wing-forward P.
Kelly to finish off a good forward movement by the Dubs to score a goal.
Whatever hope this gave the local supporters was soon ended when Tipperary substitute Jody Brennan scored a good point from play in injury time to finish the scoring and leave Tipperary in front by 1-20 to 1-17 at the final whistle.

The Tipperary team and scorers were as follows – Darren Gleeson; Conor O’Brien, Paul Curran, Diarmaid Fitzgerald; Brendan Maher, Declan Fanning (Captain), Shane Maher; Benny Dunne (0-1), Gearoid Ryan (0-1); Seamus Hennessy (0-7, 0-3 frees), Hugh Maloney (0-2), John Devane (0-2); Pat Kerwick (0-1), Micheal Webster (1-0), Patrick Maher (0-1)
Subs: Michael Heffernan for Pat Kerwick, Seamus Callanan (0-4, 0-2
frees) for Micheal Webster, Paul Kelly for Hugh Maloney, Jody Brennan
(0-1) for Seamus Hennessy, Shane McGrath for John Devane

Leave a Reply