Tipperary defeated in Tony Forristal Semi Final

Tipperary were defeated by Cork in the Under 14 Tony Forrital tournament semi final in Waterford on Saturday.  Tipperary won their two group matches.  They defeated Wexford by 2-12 to 0-5 in their opening match and they then defeated Clare by 2-5 to 0-6 to qualify for the semi final against Cork.  This was a very close affair with Cork winning in the end by 0-6 to 0-5.

Cork won the tournament for the fourth time when they overcame the challenge of Galway at Walsh Park, winning the game on a score of 1-10 to 1-6. Cork’s previous wins came in 1985, 1998 and 2000.

Now in its twenty-seventh year, this tournament over the years has given many stars of the hurling world their first chance to show-case their talents in their county colours in a competitive competition.

In the ‘B’ Competition for the Edward ‘Sonny’ Walsh cup it was Laois who emerged as winners for the second time beating Antrim on a scoreline of
3-12 to 1-8. Laois previous success in this competition came in 2001 when they beat Waterford ‘B’ in the final. Laois also won the Division three final in 1994 when they beat Kildare in the Final.

Wicklow retained the Waterford Crystal Shield (Division 3 competition) that they won in 2007, beat beating Armagh in the final on a score of
3-7 to 2-3.

Leave a Reply