Tipperary defeated Galway by 2-21 to 2-13 in the final of the Tipperary Supporters Club Under 16 hurling tournament in Semple Stadium on Sunday.

The match was played on a very greasy pitch but both teams gave magnificient displays and the hurling was top class. Galway started impressively and their full forward Shane Moloney scored three points inside the first five minutes. Tipp gradually settled and the team were level at 0-4 each by the 9th minute. Dan McCormack (2), Liam McGrath and Pat Ralph were on target for Tipperary. Moloney who will line out for Galway minors in next Sundays All Ieland final was causing many problems for the Tipp defence and he scored a great individual goal in the 10th minute and he followed with a long range pointed free to give his side a four points advantage. Tipp brought Jason Forde to full back and this move tightened up the defence and the midfield and forwards began to see more of the ball. Four Liam McGrath points from free and another point from Mark Tuite left Tipp in arrears by a point with ten minutes of the half remaining. Tipp took the lead for the fist time in the 22nd minute when great play by Pat Ralph and Dan McCormack released corner forward Cathal Horan and he rattled the Galway net. Tuite had another Tipp point and further points from Liam McGrath and Pat Ralph have Tipp a 1-12 to 1-9 half time lead.

Tipp hit five unanswered point through Pat Ralph (free), Liam McGrath (2 frees) and Cathal Horan (2) in the first ten minutes of the second half to extend their advantage and when Cathal Horan scored his second goal of the game in the 47th minute Tipp held a ten points lead (2-17 to 1-10). Galway introduced a number of substitutes but despite launching a number of attacks the Tipp defence were rock solid. Liam McGrath scored three points and Dan McCormack had another in the closing stages to extend the Tipp lead. Galway scored a consolation goal in the 58th minute but the game was over as a contest long before this. Final score: Tipperary 2-21 Galway 2-13.

Tipperary team and scorers: Peadar Wade (Holycross-Ballycahill); Aaron Conran (Fethard), Niall O’Sullivan (Moycarkey-Borris), Seamus Kennedy (St. Marys); Jason Forde (Silvermines) , John Meagher (Loughmore-Castleiney), Cathal Barrett (Holycross-Ballycahill); David Corbett (Durlas Ó g), Owen Fennelly (Mullinahone); Pat Ralph (Moycarkey-Borris) 0-3, Dan McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) 0-3, Mark Tuite (Nenagh Eire Ó g) 0-2; Conor Hammersley (Clonoulty/Rossmore), Liam McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney) 0-11, Cathal Horan (Mullinahone) 2-2. Subs: Jamie Stapleton (Durlas Og) for David Corbett, Jason Bergin (Moyne/Templetuohy) for Mark Tuite.
The other panel members were: Patrick Ryan (Knockavilla/Donaskeigh Kickhams), Shane Hassett (Drom-Inch), Eoin Carew (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), James Ryan (Durlas Óg), Dean Lonergan (Cahir), John Kehoe (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Odran Floyd (Newport), Kevin Larkin (Kilsheelan-Kilcash), Colm Canning (Toomevara), Andrew Purcell (Clonoulty/Rossmore.

The selectors were Ray Ralph (Moycarkey-Borris), Philly Ryan (Knockavilla-Donaskeigh Kickhams), Liam Flannery (Nenagh Eire Óg) and Martin O’Brien (Clonmel Óg). Len Gaynor (Kilruane MacDonaghs was the coach.

Leave a Reply