Tipperary SH Team v Cork Allianz GAA Hurling National League

Tipperary SH Team v Cork Allianz GAA Hurling National League 

The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to play Cork on Sunday April 4th in the Allianz GAA Hurling National League shows 2 changes from the team which started against Waterford last Sunday. Michael Cahill of Thurles Sarsfields replaces Shane Maher at left wing back and captain, Eoin Kelly, who has recovered from injury, returns in place of John O’Brien.

1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange)
2. Paddy Stapleton (Borris-Ileigh)
3. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields)
4. Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
5. Declan Fanning (Killenaule)
6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport)
7. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
8. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh)
9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
10. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
11. Lar Corbett (Thurles Sarsfields)
12. Gearóid Ryan (Templederry Kenyons)
13. Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) Captain
14. Timmy Hammersley (Clonoulty Rossmore)
15. Paul Kelly (Mullinahone)


Tipperary are now third in the Allianz GAA National Hurling League table behind leaders Cork and second place Galway. Tipp need to defeat Cork in their game on Sunday next, April 4th at Páirc Uí Chaoimh and Offaly in their final game on April 18th in Tullamore if they are to have a chance of qualifying for the League Final. Next Sunday’s game will be the 53rd League encounter between Tipp and Cork, with Cork winning 26, Tipp 23 and 3 draws in the previous 52 clashes. In their last 10 League meetings Tipperary have won 5, Cork 4 and there was 1 draw. Their last league meeting at Páirc Uí Chaoimh was in 2004 when the result was a draw on the scoreline of Tipperary 1-20 Cork 2-17. Tipp’s last win in Cork was in 2002 when they won a group stage game by 1-17 to 1-14 but Cork reversed that defeat in the semi-final that year, also played in Cork, on a scoreline of 0-21 to 1-10.

Leave a Reply