The Championship 2008

In Brian Carthy’s comprehensive all-colour book, the 14th in the series, the RTÉ Gaelic Games correspondent and commentator takes an in-depth look back at the 2008 Football and Hurling Championships, covering every match in all its relevant statistical detail. Mickey Harte’s Tyrone won their third All-Ireland senior football title this decade with a 1-15 to 0-14 victory over Kerry in what was an enthralling final between the two best teams in the country.

Tyrone captain Seán Cavanagh produced a superlative display and finished with a tally of 0-5 from play while Tommy McGuigan scored the only goal of the match just after the re-start. Tyrone have now emerged winners in the three most recent Championship clashes between the counties; the 2003 semi-final and the finals of 2005 and 2008.

Kilkenny claimed their first three-in-a-row since 1913 following a comprehensive 23 points win over Waterford in the All-Ireland hurling final. It was a near flawless display by Kilkenny and would most assuredly compare with any of the more memorable team performances in any sport at national or international level.

Brian Carthy captures the excitement of the 2008 Football and Hurling Championships with his comprehensive all-colour book that will prove an invaluable source of record for everyone involved in Gaelic Games.

The author, Brian Carthy, is best known as a leading commentator on hurling and football and has been RTÉ Radio’s Gaelic Games Correspondent for well over a decade. A native of Ballymore, near Strokestown, County Roscommon, Brian has written some 16 books – including the best-selling Football Captains, All-Ireland Winners and the A-Z of Country and Irish Stars. Brian has been compiling this definitive and indispensable annual record of the championships since 1995.

Leave a Reply