Tipperary will play Limerick in the Munster Intermediate Hurling Championship on Wednesday July 23rd at 7:30pm in Semple Stadium Thurles. Pat Casey (Waterford) will be the referee. Tipperary qualified for this final thanks to a 1-21 to 0-17 victory over Cork while Limerick defeated Clare by 1-16 to 0-15. Tipperary’s last Munster title in this grade came in 2002 thanks to a 4-8 to 2-7 victory over Waterford at Pairc Ui Chaoimh. The winning Tipperary team on that occasion lined out as follows – Fergal Horgan (Knockavillia Kickhams), Brian Gaynor (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Mark Peters (Galtee Rovers), Ger Griffin (Ballinahinch), Karl Hogan (Kildangan), Colin Morrissey (Galtee Rovers, Captain), Colm Everard (Moyne-Templetuohy), Shane Maher (Burgess, 0-1), John Teehan (Gortnahoe-Glengoole, 1-1), Brendan Hogan (Gortnahoe-Glengoole, 0-3 frees), Brian Stritch (Ballina), Pat Buckley (Emly), Ger Maguire (Lattin-Cullen, 1-2), Dan Hackett (Kildangan, 1-0), Simon Everard (Moyne-Templetuohy, 1-1). Subs: Pa Morrissey (Galtee Rovers) and Mark Keeshan (Moneygall).

The Munster Champions will qualify directly for the All-Ireland Final this year as Ulster have no representatives in this competition, so the Munster Final is also effectively an All-Ireland Semi Final.  The All-Ireland Final will be played on the weekend of 30/31 August.

Leave a Reply