On Sunday, August 1st the Tipperary hurling club in Boston qualified for this years senior final with a great performance against a highly fancied Galway team on a scoreline of 2-16 to 0-13. In doing so, Tipperary have qualified for a remarkable 14th final in 16 years with 2003 and 2006 the only years they missed the final in that time. Tipperary remain undefeated this year, having already accounted for Cork, Wexford, Fr.Toms and Galway in their bid to retain their crown. Among the players involved in in this year’s squad include Tossy Lowry (Holycross-Ballycahill), Michael Gleeson (Thurles Sarsfields), Shane Bourke (JK Brackens) and Paul McGrath (Toomevara). Subs used on the day included John O’Keefe (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Patrick Leahy (Thurles Sarsfields), Tom Treacy (Cappawhite) and Michael Heelan (Knockavilla-Kickhams). Other subs included John McGrath (Knockavilla Kickhams) and Seamus Leahy (Boherlahan-Dualla). The team is managed by Kevin O Donnell (Boherlahan-Dualla), Liam Tuohy (Golden-Kilfeacle) and Des Roland (Galway). Best wishes to all concerned in the final on August 29th.

Leave a Reply