Congratulations to Tipperary’s three All-Stars for the 2008 season – Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange, No. 1), Conor O’Mahony (Newport, No. 6) and Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch, No. 9). Since the beginning of the existing All-Star award scheme in 1971, Tipperary have now won 67 Hurling All-Star awards. Brendan Cummins won his fourth All-Star award following previous awards in 2000, 2001 and 2003 and he is the third Tipperary goalkeeper to be honoured following awards for Pat McLoughney (Shannon Rovers – 1979, 1980) and Ken Hogan (Lorrha-Dorrha – 1987). Nicky English (Lattin-Cullen – 6 All-Stars) and Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone – 5 All-Stars) are the only Tipperary hurlers to have won more All-Stars than Brendan Cummins. Michael Cleary (Nenagh Eire Og) is the other Tipperary player along with Brendan with 4 All-Stars.

Conor O’Mahony won his first All-Star award and joins Mick Roche (Carrick Davins – 1971) and Bobby Ryan (Borris-Ileigh – 1989) as the other hurlers from Tipperary to win an All-Star award at centre-back. Finally, Shane McGrath also won his first All-Star award at midfield and joins six other hurlers from Tipperary who have won All-Star awards at midfield – namely Colm Bonnar (Cashel King Cormacs – 1988), Declan Carr (Holycross-Ballycahill – 1989), John Leahy (Mullinahone – 1991), Tommy Dunne (Toomevara – 1997, 1999, 2001), Eddie Enright (Thurles Sarsfields – 2001) and Paul Kelly (Mullinahone – 2005). 

Courtesy GAA Scene www.tipperarygaa.ie

Leave a Reply