From Tipperary GAA Scene
Congratulations to the Tipperary Under 21 Hurlers and Management on reaching the All Ireland Final by defeating Antrim at O’Connor Park Tullamore on Saturday evening last. They will now play Galway in the final on Saturday, September 11th. The venue will be decided next Monday. Tipperary have won 8 All Irelands, the last being in 1995. Galway have won 9, their most recent was in 2007. Tipperary have played in 3 finals since their last win – 2004, 2006 and 2008 all three of which they lost to Kilkenny. Galway’s last appearance in the final was in 2007 when they defeated Dublin. Tipperary and Galway have met 4 times in All Ireland Under 21 finals with Galway winning 2, Tipperary 1 and 1 draw. The results were: 1978 Galway 3-15 Tipperary 2-8 ( Replay) at Limerick, 1978 Galway 3-5 Tipperary 2-8 ( Draw) at Limerick, 1979 Tipperary 2-12 Galway 1-9 at Portlaoise and 1983 Galway 0-12 Tipperary 1-6 at Tullamore. Current U-21 team manager, Ken Hogan, played in goals for the 1983 team. This will be Tipperary’s first opportunity since 1989 to win the senior and under 21 double.

From www.gaa.ie

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Tipperary cruised into the final of the Bord Gais Energy GAA Hurling All-Ireland U21 Championship with a 2-32 to 1-7 defeat of Antrim at Tullamore on Saturday.

John O’Dwyer’s goal on 20 minutes set them on their way to a comprehensive 1-18 to 0-1 lead at the break, with Senior star Noel McGrath supplying five first half points.

Tipperary were no less relentless in the second half, with O’Dwyer adding a second goal to his tally 48 minutes in, before Michael Armstrong grabbed a consolation goal for the Saffrons soon after.

Incredibly, Tipperary had 28 points to spare at the end, meaning their Seniors and U21s remain on course for double September success.

Meanwhile, Galway overcame Dublin by 2-14 to 1-10 in the day’s other semi-final to join Tipp in the decider.

The Tribesmen led by 1-6 to 1-5 at the break, Niall Quinn’s penalty for the Galway men canceling out David Quinn’s early Dublin goal.

A purple patch midway through the half gave them a seven-point victory, with Bernard Burke grabbing the second half goal, while Senior star David Burke’s accuracy from frees was all-important. 

 The All Ireland final will be played on Saturday September 11th. The venue will be decided when the participants are known. Tipperary were last in the final in 2008 when they were defeated by Kilkenny by a single point. 

The Tipperary under 21 hurling team to play Antrim in the All Ireland U-21 semi-final on Saturday afternoon in Tullamore shows no change from the team which defeated Clare in the Munster final. The team is:

1. James Logue (Ballingarry)
2. Kevin O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields)
3. John Coghlan (Moyne-Templetuohy)
4. Michael Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields)
5. James Barry (Upperchurch Drombane)
6. Padraic Maher (Thurles Sarsfields) Captain
7. Brendan Maher (Borris–Ileigh)
8. Seamus Hennessy (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
9. Noel McGrath (Loughmore Castleiney)
10. Seán Carey (Moyle Rovers)
11. Patrick Maher (Lorrha & Dorrha)
12. Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs)
13. Michael Heffernan (Nenagh Éire Óg)
14. Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Éire Óg)
15. John O’Dwyer (Killenaule)

Leave a Reply