Stars honoured with GAA Player of the Month awards

Cork, Down and Tipperary stars honoured with August/September GAA Player of the Month awards, sponsored by Vodafone

Three players from this year’s two All-Ireland title winners and a fourth from beaten football finalists Down have today, Wednesday, September 29th, collected the last of the 2010 GAA Player of the Month Awards, sponsored by Vodafone.

Star Tipperary attacker Noel McGrath collected the August hurling award while fellow county-man and All-Ireland final hat-trick hero, Lar Corbett was presented with the September award. Joining them on the awards list at today’s presentation ceremony at the Westbury Hotel, Dublin was Cork All-Ireland midfielder Aidan Walsh, who collected the September football Player of the Month Award, with Marty Clarke of Down receiving the August football award.

The Tipperary duo became the first Premier County players this season to end up on the Player of the Month Awards list, a reflection of the county’s perfect timing in hitting top form at the business end of the season following their disappointing start to the championship with a surprise defeat to Cork.

The August award for McGrath, 19, is due recognition for the 2009 Young Player of the Year’s stunning display in Tipperary’s impressive 3-19 to 1-18 victory over Waterford. McGrath hit five outstanding points from play against the Decies as he won a crucial battle against one of the finest centre-backs in the game, Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh.

Just six days later he was again a central figure in blue and gold the county overran Antrim later in the U-21 All-Ireland semi-final. His team-mate Lar Corbett (29) was a popular choice for the September Player of the Month Award after his magical three goals helped Tipp. power past Kilkenny and erase the memory of the harrowing 2009 All-Ireland final defeat to the same opponents.

The August football award was some consolation to Down forward Marty Clarke (23) after his side’s narrow defeat to Cork in Sunday week lasts’ All-Ireland final and recognition of his outstanding display in spearheading Down’s victory over Kerry in what was one of the surprise results of the 2010 football championship. Clarke maintained his fine form later in the month as he was one of the stars of their semi-final victory over Kildare.

For Cork’s Aidan Walsh (20), who gave an imperious midfield display in the All-Ireland final victory over Marty Clarke’s Down, the award caps a magnificent September and, indeed, season after the Rebels ended up double champions, with their 20 year wait for the All-Ireland title coming five months after their Allianz National League title victory.

Uachtarán Chumann Lúthchleas Gael Cristoir Ó Cuana said: "Today’s awards bring together four stars of the 2010 GAA season. Each of them has added so much to what has been a truly memorable year. The fact that Tipperary players claimed both the August and September awards reflected their well-timed run all the way to a victorious and tremendous All-Ireland final win. Similarly in football, both Marty Clarke and Aidan Walsh did the business for their counties at the peak of the season and all four are fully deserving of these awards."

Jointly presenting the awards with the GAA President, Vodafone Ireland’s Head of Corporate Affairs Ms Rosemary Steen said: "We have had a tremendous mix of Player of the Month winners in 2010, with eleven counties ending up on the winners list, including a number from outside the traditionally dominant counties, which is very refreshing for the awards. Today’s awards honour those who excelled at the high point of the season and we are delighted today to honour four excellent men from Cork, Down and Tipperary.

2010 Player of the Month Winners

Football: Eamonn Fennell, Dublin
Hurling: Iarla Tannian, Galway

Football: David Tubridy, Clare
Hurling: Pat Horgan, Cork

Football: Steven McDonnell, Armagh
Hurling: Ger Farragher, Galway

Football: Benny Coulter, Down
Hurling: Aisake Ó hAilpín, Cork

Football: Paddy Keenan, Louth
Hurling: Shane Dooley, Offaly

Football: Eamonn Callaghan, Kildare
Hurling: Tony Browne, Waterford

Football: Martin Clarke, Down
Hurling: Noel McGrath, Tipperary

Football: Aidan Walsh, Cork
Hurling: Lar Corbett, Tipperary

Leave a Reply