Senior Hurlers Team win Tipperary Supporters Club Golf Classic

Senior Hurlers Team win Tipperary Supporters Club Golf Classic

The Tipperary Senior Hurlers team were the winners of the 24th Tipperary Supporters Club Golf Classic held on 14th and 15th May at the County Tipperary Golf and Country Club, Dundrum.  John Devane collected the winning prize on behalf of Micheál Webster, Darren Gleeson and his brother Liam Devane after posting a score of 93 points on Friday afternoon, just edging out the Acorn Life team in to second place on 92 points.  Let’s hope the panel continue on their winning ways on the hurling fields.

The Classic was again a great success with 50 teams taking part.  Our thanks go to all the team, tee and green sponsors who again ensured that the event was a major fundraiser for hurling in Tipperary.  Particular credit is due to the Crowe Family and the staff at the Club who all had the venue in great condition, despite some very testing weather especially on the Thursday evening .   

In the attached photo presenting the prize to the winning captain John Devane of the Tipperary Senior Hurlers Golf Team is Tipperary Supporters Club Chair, John Tierney. Also present were l to r: Seán Nugent, Vice-Chair, Tipperary County Board; Séamus King, Captain, County Tipperary Golf Club; Tim Floyd, Secretary, Tipperary County Board; and Joe Tuohy, Secretary, Tipperary Supporters Club.

Winners : ‘Tipperary Players’:- Darren Gleeson; Micheal Webster; Liam Devane; John Devane

Runners-up: Acorn Life :- Ger Ryan; Martin Gleeson; Noel Morris; Ken Dunne

3rd : An Poitin Stil ( Louis Fitzgerald): – Eugene O’Meara, John Bourke, Franny Quinn, Noel Buckley

4th: M&J Gleeson:-Martin McGrath; Donal Hurley; William Duff; John McGrath

5th: Eamonn Kelly,Kildangan:- Eamonn Kelly; Eamonn Corcoran; Mike Sheedy; Jim O’Sullivan

6th Dundrum Maps(Don O’Mahony):- Pat Kennedy; Billy Morgan; Gary Howard; Paddy Crowe

Longest Drive – Noel Morris , 14 h’cap Rathdowney- Acorn Life team

Nearest Pin- Willie Cunningham, 12 h’cap East Cork – Killester Travel team

‘Early Bird’ Prizes to: Jim & Mary McCormack team ; Garrabridge team (Chris Lacey – Kilkea Castle)

Leave a Reply