Senior Camogie Championship County Final

Cashel claim their 15th county title

Cashel 2.15, Burgess/Duharra 2.13 (aet)

With 3 minutes already played in injury time in the second half of extra time, & Cashel down a point, Emily Hayden picked the ball from the wing, & managing to get some space from her marker an ordinary player would have opted for the point. Not Emily, she raided down on the Burgess goal to see her hand pass effort saved, but her momentum kept her going & with both players clashing on the ball Cashel registered the goal to hand them their 15th County title, & leave Burgess/Duharra wait another year to try & claim their first.

This final played last Sunday will go down as one of the best displays ever witnessed from two teams who gave everything to their cause. The players gave an exhibition of blocking, striking, catching, fitness & determination.

Burgess had the strong wind in their back & Jenny O Halloran was first to score from play. Claire Grogan answered for Cashel while Therese Brophy & Linda Grogan exchanged points from mid field. With 10 minutes gone sides were level, before Burgess started to pull ahead with points from Eimear McDonnell & Jenny O Halloran. A line ball for Burgess was latched onto by Ciara Gaynor who pulled first time to beat Cashel goalie Helen Breen. Eimear McDonnell pointed to put 6 points between the sides. Claire Grogan & Philly Fogarty hit 2 for Cashel before Burgess hit 4 unanswered points, Eimear McDonnell (2), Aine Mulcahy (1), Amy Kennedy(1). Half time, after a thrilling display from both teams, Burgess were ahead 1.09 to 0.04.

Cashel came out in the 2nd half with Philly Fogarty restored to her natural centre back position & Emily Hayden back into the inside forward line & immediately points from Claire Grogan, Alison Lonergan & Jill Horan narrowed the margin. Amy Kennedy again pointed for Burgess in the 10th minute. At this stage Cashel were applying the pressure but a huge performance from Trish O Halloran at centre back ensured that Cashel weren’t getting it all their own way. Points from Claire Grogan (2), Cora Hennessy (1), & Cliodhna Dwyer (1), brought Cashel within 2 points of their opponents. Then, a ball from Allison Lonergan deceived the Burgess goalie & with the green flag raised for Cashel they suddenly found themselves in front for the first time by a point with 5 minutes to go. Eimear McDonnell broke free & she pointed to level the sides at 1.11 a piece at full time. Extra time beckoned.

With two 10 minute halves facing the sides, & after giving so much energy to the game, supporters wondered if the both teams had anything left in the tank.

This was quickly answered, Mairead Morrissey & Emily Hayden pointed for Cashel, before a mistake in the Cashel goalmouth gave Burgess the goal to restore their 1 point advantage at the break of extra time.

Final 10 minutes, & the excitement was unbearable. Amy Kennedy popped up to point for Burgess. Two points up, 6 minutes left. Claire Grogan pointed, 1 point between the sides, 4 minutes left. Jill Horan pointed, sides level, 1 minute normal time left. Eimear McDonnell pointed a free in the 11th minute. Burgess ahead by a point. Surely no more could happen. Then Emily Hayden produced a bit of magic, & after 80 minutes of pure brilliant displays of Camogie from both teams, Cashel captain Una Dwyer accepted the cup from County Board Chairman Michael Browne.

Burgess/Duharra must wonder what they have to do to win a title. They gave everything to this game & provided so much entertainment, little consolation but they can be proud of their performance. Some might have thought Cashel were dead & buried at half time of normal time. These girls haven’t won 15 titles without battles, & their belief in themselves got them over the finish line. They now go on to represent Tipperary in the Munster championship when the play Limerick Champions Kileedy from Granagh. This game is fixed for Cashel on this Saturday October 17th @ 2.30pm. Let’s hope they have the full support of all Tipperary as they try to emulate their success of 2007.

Leave a Reply