To mark the 125th birthday of the GAA this Sunday, the Tipperary Supporters Club is giving a special birthday present to four Junior Members who share their birthday, 1st November, with the Association.  The lucky winners are Aoife Butler of Thurles, Killian Murphy of Kilsheelan, Michael O’Connor of Portroe and Nóirín Stapleton of Borris-ileigh.  Each will receive a gift of a Tipperary Supporters Radio and Cap.  Each of their parents will receive a separate email explaining how they can collect their prizes.  Comhgháirdeas libh!  Here is some further information on other events to mark the anniversary.

Next Sunday, November 1st is the anniversary date of the founding of the GAA 125 years ago and a programme of events has been organised for Sunday in Thurles. Every Tipperary club is requested to send at least one representative to participate in the celebrations. Following the special mass at 11am in the Cathedral a procession led by the Artane Band will take place from the gates of St Patricks College to the Dr Croke Monument in Liberty Square. Club representatives attired in club top or track suit will march under their Divisional banner. The Durlas Óg U14 panel who participated in the Féile na nGael this year will carry a flag for each of the 32 counties. The special Mass will be celebrated by His Grace, the Archbishop of Cashel and Emly, Dr Dermot Clifford, who is also Patron of the GAA. An Fear a Tí for the ceremony at the Dr Croke Monument will be Micheál Ó Muirchearthaigh. There will be a welcome from Tipperary County Board Chairman, Barry O’Brien. Pat Walsh, who is a descendent of GAA founder and its first president Maurice Davin, will read the letter from Dr. Croke to Michael Cusack about the founding of the Association and GAA President Christy Cooney will lay a wreath. The TG4 Player Awards will be presented at Semple Stadium on Sunday as part of a programme of events which features the Munster Hurling Club Championship final between Thurles Sarsfields and Newtownshandrum of Cork. After the game at 4.15pm, the Tipperary County Board Laochra Sean Ghaeil Awards for 2009 will be presented in the Semple Stadium Dome by Christy Cooney. There will be 32 recipients – 8 from each of the county’s 4 divisions. Well done to all recipients who are been honoured for their lifetime contributions to the GAA.

Leave a Reply