Adare (Limerick) v Toomevara (Tipperary), Gaelic Grounds, 2.00pm

Sarsfields (Cork) v De La Salle (Waterford), Pairc Ui Chaoimh, 2.00pm.

There will be new faces in the Munster final irrespective of who wins the Sarsfields v De La Salle semi-final on Sunday as both sides are competing in the provincial championship for the first time. Sarsfields won the Cork title for the first time in 51 years while De La Salle wrote their place in Waterford history by winning the county crown for the first time last Sunday when they beat Abbeyside by 0-11 to 0-9 in the final. Inspired by Waterford stars, John Mullane, Kevin Moran and Brian Phelan, De La Salle crowned a great season by finally capturing Waterford’s big prize and will now be hoping to break new frontiers when they take on Sarsfields.

The Cork champions have already put down a marker, having beaten Clonlara
(Clare) by 0-26 to 0-10 in the Munster quarter-final. Former Cork star, Pat Ryan scored 0-13 for Sarsfields, who will also be looking to current inter-county men, Kieran and Kevin Murphy for leadership. Football star, Michael Cussen is also a key figure in their attack.

Toomevara are back in the Munster race for the 11th time since 1992 after winning a Tipperary championship where they beat Thurles Sarsfields by 2-14 to 0-17 in the final. Eoin Brislane scored 1-5 for Toome as they landed another county crown with an emphatic display. The Dunne and O’Brien brothers and Willie Ryan are other key figures for the Tipp champions.

Adare, coached by former Clare star, Ger O’Loughlin, retained the Limerick title with an 0-13 to 0-8 win over Adare. Conor Fitzgerald scored 0-7 for the winners who will also be looking to Mark Foley, Wayne McNamara, Timmy Houlihan and Donncha Sheehan to provide big day inspiration. 

The Munster Final is fixed for 30th Novermber with the Munster winners due to meet the Ulster winners in the All-Ireland Semi-Final.

Leave a Reply