National Hurling League – Tipperary vs. Kilkenny – Team News


Tipperary take on Kilkenny on Sunday next at 2:30pm in Nowlan Park in an eagerly awaited clash of the reigning National League and All-Ireland champions.
The Tipperary Senior Hurling team to play Kilkenny shows 3 changes from the team which defeated Clare in their last game. Conor O’Brien, Brendan Maher and Tony Scroope come in to the team at the expense of injured trio – Paddy Stapleton, Thomas Stapleton and Willie Ryan.

1. Brendan Cummins (Ballybacon-Grange)
2. Conor O’Brien (Éire Óg, Annacarty)
3. Declan Fanning (Killenaule)
4. Paul Curran (Mullinahone)
5. Benny Dunne (Toomevara)
6. Conor O’Mahony (Newport) Captain
7. Diarmaid Fitzgerald (Roscrea)
8. Brendan Maher (Borris-Ileigh)
9. Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch)
10. Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney)
11. Seamus Callanan (Drom & Inch)
12. James Woodlock (Drom & Inch)
13. Tony Scroope (Burgess)
14. John O’Brien (Toomevara)
15. Paul Kelly (O’Loughlin Gaels)


The counties have met in the National Hurling League on 9 occasions since 2000 and amazingly, the home team has won on just one occasion – in 2005 when Kilkenny won at Nowlan Park by 3-18 to 2-16 in Phase 2 of the National Hurling League. Eoin Larkin and Henry Shefflin combined to score 3-10 on that occasion in a team which contained 11 of the players who started in last year’s All-Ireland Final. Eoin Kelly was top scorer for Tipperary with nine points in a side which contained 10 of the current panel. Tipperary’s record at Nowlan Park in the NHL this decade is won 3, drawn 1 and lost 1.

On the other hand, Kilkenny have been dominant against Tipperary at Semple Stadium, winning the last 3 NHL matches and you have to go back to March 1998 for the last victory by Tipperary over Kilkenny in Thurles on a scoreline of 3-13 to 1-13.

Overall, the counties have met 57 times in the National Hurling League with the record to date being Tipperary 28 wins, Kilkenny 23 wins and there have been 6 draws.

Leave a Reply