Congratulations to the Tipperary U-21 hurling team and management on defeating Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh by 2-17 to 0-21 after extra time. Tipperary will now play defending Munster and All Ireland U-21 champions, Clare in the Munster U-21 final at Semple Stadium on Wednesday, July 28th at 7.30pm. Tipperary and Clare have met 23 times in the Munster U-21 championship with Tipperary winning 18 times, Clare 4 and 1 draw. The six previous final meetings have been won by Tipperary, the most recent being at Cusack Park in Ennis in 2008 when Seamus Hennessy of Kilruane MacDonaghs was captain. The other 5 victories were in 1972, 1983, 1999 and 2008 (all in Ennis) and 1995 at Semple Stadium. Tipperary have played in 28 Munster U-21 finals, winning 19, losing 9 and going on to win 8 All Irelands. Clare have played in 13 Munster finals with their only win coming against Waterford in last year’s final and of course they went on to win the All Ireland title. Tipp’s last All Ireland win was in 1995 when the team was captained by Brian Horgan (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams). They defeated Kilkenny in the final at Thurles. Current Tipp u-21 team coach, Tommy Dunne played on the 1995 team.
We would ask supporters to come as early as possible to Semple Stadium for the Munster u-21 final. A large crowd is expected and we would ask all those who can travel early to do so in order to minimise last minute queues. It’s not fair to players to delay the start and of course supporters don’t want the game to start if they are delayed queuing. There will be plenty of stiles open at Semple Stadium but please do come in time. We would ask people to aim to be in their seats or on the terrace for 7.15pm.
The fact that the U-21 Munster Hurling semi-final between Cork and Tipperary went to extra time should have been of little surprise! In the last 13 months, Tipperary and Cork have played a total of five underage matches against each other in the Munster Minor and Under 21 Hurling Championship and four of these matches have gone to extra time and one went to a replay. Never in the history of the rivalry between Tipperary and Cork has there been such a period of unpredictable drama. For the record, Tipperary have won 3 of these encounters, Cork 1 with 1 draw. Between them, Tipperary and Cork have accounted for 23 goals and 205 points (an aggregate score of 274 points) in 380 minutes of Championship fare. 3 goals and 70 points have come from placed balls while there have been 3 pointed sideline cuts. Both teams recorded the same number of scores over this period with Tipperary scoring 7 more goals than their opponents (15 vs. 8) while Cork led the points tally by 7 (106 vs. 99). Last Wednesday’s Under 21 match was the lowest scoring game of the four drawn matches during this 13 month period. On the negative side, such have been the exploits of the counties trying to get one over on the other that to date, the winning county has yet to advance past the next round of the respective competitions. We hope that the Tipperary under 21 Hurlers can buck this trend next week in the Munster Final.  For the record, the scorelines during this period of unrivalled drama are as follows – 2009 U-21HC – Tipperary 2-22 Cork 0-25; 2009 MHC – Tipperary 5-17 Cork 5-17; 2009 MHC Replay – Tipperary 2-21 Cork 1-12; 2010 MHC – Cork 2-31 Tipperary 4-22; 2010 U-21HC – Tipperary 2-17 Cork 0-21.

Tipperary will play Clare in the Munster GAA Bord Gais Energy Under 21 Hurling Championship Final on Wednesday July 28th at 7:30pm in Semple Stadium Thurles.

Fixture Details


Bórd Gáis Energy Munster GAA Under 21 Hurling Championship Final


At Semple Stadium, Thurles

At 7.30pm

Reiteoir – Cathal McAllister (Corcaigh)


Wednesday June 3rd. at Pairc Ui Chaoimh
Cork 1-16 Waterford 1-3
Cork scorers
R. Clifford 0-6: M. O’Sullivan 1-0: C. McCarthy 0-2: S. O’Farrell 0-2: L. Farrell 0-2: M. Bowles 0-1: M. Collins 0-1: J. Nagle 0-1: P. Gould 0-1
Waterford scorers
B. O’Sullivan 1-0: M. Shanahan 0-2: S. Kearney 0-1

Wednesday July 14th.
At Pairc na nGael, Limerick
Clare 1-15 Limerick 1-12
Clare scorers
C. McGrath 0-9: D. Honan 1-3: P. Vaughan 0-1: E. Hayes 0-1: N. O’Connell 0-1
Limerick scorers
T. O’Brien 0-5: P. Browne 0-2: S. Tobin 0-2: D. Hannon 0-1: M. Kiely 0-1: K. Owens 0-1 D. Owens 1-0

At Pairc Ui Chaoimh, Cork
Tipperary 2-17 Cork 0-21 (aet)

Tipperary scorers
N. McGrath 0-6: S. Hennessy 1-3: M. Heffernan 1-2: S. Casey 0-2: P. Maher 0-1: P. Murphy 0-1: J. O’Dwyer 0-1: B. Maher 0-1
Cork scorers
R. Clifford 0-9: M. Bowles 0-3: W. Egan 0-2: L.O’Farrell 0-2: D. Kearney 0-2: R. White 0-1: R. O’Driscoll 0-1

R. Clifford (Cork) 0-15
C. McGrath (Clare) 0-9
D. Honan (Clare) 1-3
N. McGrath (Tipperary) 0-6

Leave a Reply