Munster Cup (SH) Round Up


Holders Tipperary will face Clare in the final of the Waterford Crystal Cup after both sides won on Sunday.

Tipperary, who of course beat the Banner County in last year’s Munster final, earned a 3-9 to 1-8 win over spirited UL in Cahir.

Indeed the men from the Limerick college started the stronger and had a 1-4 to 0-4 half-time lead thanks to the prowess of Tommy Stapleton, Noel O Murchu and Michael Gleeson

Lar Corbett goaled for Tipp early in the second half, but the county side then lost Eamonn Buckley and Willie Ryan to yellow cards.

That did not stop them from marching on though as goals from Paul Kelly and Hugh Moloney ensured the win.

As for Clare, they were at the races from the start in Meelick, where they defeated Waterford IT 2-12 to 1-2.

Mike McNamara’s side found themselves a 2-8 to 0-5 ahead at half-time, helped greatly by goals from veteran Alan Markham and Barry Nugent.

Timmy Hammersley’s goal kept WIT in contention and the gap was just a point after more points from the same player and Kilkenny ace TJ Reid.

Camin Morey hit a couple of late points to ensure that his side would progress for a crack at getting a little revenge on the Premier County.

Leave a Reply