Tipperary will play Clare in the 2008 Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Final on Wednesday evening next, July 30th in Cusack Park Ennis with a 7:30pm throw-in time. Tipperary had a hard earned semi-final victory over Limerick, winning by 1-13 to 0-15. Meanwhile, Clare caused an upset when they defeated Cork at Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Monday evening last on a scoreline of 1-20 to 1-11. Tipperary are level on top of the Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship roll of honour with Cork on 18 titles while Clare are contesting their 12th final in this grade and are looking for the first ever title.


The last meeting of Tipperary and Clare in the Munster Under 21 Hurling Final took place on August 31st 1999 at Cusack Park Ennis with Tipperary winning out on a scoreline of 1-18 to 1-15 in front of an attendance of 17,049. Clare led by 1-7 to 0-9 at the interval thanks to a goal by Alan Markham from a 20 metre free. Tipperary’s Declan Browne scored a goal in the 44th minute and the Premier County held out to win by three points. The Clare panel included John Reddan, Colm Forde, Gerry Quinn, Enda Flannery and Tony Carmody who all played Senior Hurling with the Banner County. The Tipperary team and scorers were as follows – Damien Young (Drom & Inch); Thomas Costello (Cappawhite), Fergal Heaney (Knockavilla Kickhams), William Hickey (Boherlahan-Dualla – Captain); Donnacha Fahy (St. Marys), John Carroll (Roscrea), Philip Maher (Borris-Ileigh); Michael Ryan (Templederry Kenyons, 0-1), Richie Flannery (Nenagh Eire Og, 0-1); Paddy O’Brien (Toomevara, 0-9, 0-7 frees), William Maher (Ballingarry), Paul Kelly (Mullinahone, 0-3); Michael “Bonnie” Kennedy (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Eugene O’Neill (Cappawhite, 0-1), Declan Browne (Moyle Rovers, 1-0). Subs: Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone, 0-3) for Heaney, John Teehan (Gortnahoe-Glengoole) for Maher, John Ferncombe (Holycross-Ballycahill) for Kennedy.

The last meeting of the counties at the Under 21 grade came in the Munster semi-final in 2006 when Tipperary won by 1-17 to 0-17 at Semple Stadium Thurles. Five players who started that match two years ago lined out in the recent Munster Senior Hurling Final, namely Conor O’Brien and James Woodlock from Tipperary and Pat Donnellan, Jonathan Clancy and Mark Flaherty of Clare.

Leave a Reply