Munster Minor Hurling Championship Final – Tipperary vs. Cork – Team News

The Tipperary Minor Hurling team to play Cork in Sunday’s Munster Final shows one personnel change from the team which defeated Clare in the semi-final. Ruari Gleeson comes in to the side at midfield with team captain Noel McGrath moving to wing-back in place of Denis Maher.

TIPPERARY (MH vs. Cork) – Bill McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields); Liam Butler (Moyne-Templetuohy), Kevin O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields), Ciaran Haugh (Lorrha-Dorrha), James Barry (Upperchurch-Drombane), Adrian Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), Noel McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney – Captain); Ruari Gleeson (Kildangan), Joe Gallagher (Kildangan); Kieran Murphy (Killenaule), Thomas Butler (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Paddy Murphy (Nenagh Eire Og); John O’Neill (Clonoulty-Rossmore), Brian O’Meara (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Kieran Morris (Moycarkey-Borris)

Following Tipperary’s hard earned semi-final victory over Clare, the Premier County will now play Cork in the Munster Minor Hurling Championship Final on Sunday next July 13th at 2:00pm. Tipperary will be looking to win their 37th title while Cork are going for title number 32. Cork and Tipperary have dominated this competition to such an extent since the first championship in 1928 that there has never been two consecutive years where either Cork or Tipperary were not crowned Munster Minor Hurling champions. In fact, since Waterford’s victory in the 1992 Munster Minor Hurling final, Tipperary have won 8 of the 15 Munster Minor Hurling titles played while Cork have won 7 Munster titles. Tipperary’s record in the Munster Minor Hurling Championship since 1996 is Played 32, Won 25, Drawn 2 and Lost 5. Best wishes to the players under the leadership of Declan Ryan (Clonoulty-Rossmore – Manager), Tommy Dunne (Toomevara – Coach), Liam Cahill (Thurles Sarsfields) and Michael Gleeson (Thurles Sarsfields).

Leave a Reply