Liam MacCarthy Cup in London on October 30th

London Tipperary Association (Founder 1952)
Press Release

2010 Annual Dinner-Dance Crown Moran Hotel Saturday October 30th

London first destination outside Tipperary for Liam MacCarthy Cup

The Liam MacCarthy Cup will have pride of place at this year’s London Tipperary Annual Dinner-Dance on Saturday October 30th. Accompanied by team captain Eoin Kelly and manger Liam Sheedy, long-serving Association Life-President and Lorrha native– Tom Milne, who has been welcoming Tipperary teams to London since the early 70s, confirmed that all Tipperary Gaels can look forward to another memorable evening at Cricklewood’s Crown Moran Hotel in north London.

“The recent achievements of the Tipperary hurling teams, both Senior and U21 are something that many of us feel privileged to have witnessed and I personally can scarcely take it all in!” said Tom who confirmed that among the other guests in the travelling party will be both of Tipperary’s U21 captains Ciaran McDonald (Football) – Padraic Maher (Hurling) whose Thurles Sarsfield team mate and All-Ireland hat-trick hero Lar Corbett, legendary goal-keeper Brendan Cummins and Declan Fanning will also be among the travelling party making the London trip. Tipperary hurling legend – Joe Hayes (1987-93) will also be honoured.
Tom added: “What a difference a year makes and although Tipperary’s campaign this summer got off to a disastrous start in Cork there is little doubt now about who is on top of the hurling world after the Premier County’s finest hour in Croke Park in over forty years on September 5th. In all my years of watching Tipperary teams in All-Ireland finals it was certainly one the sweetest victories of all time against a Kilkenny team who were one of the greatest teams in the history of the game.”

Tom Milne who was joined by Association Chairman and Drangan native Johnny Whyte at the Tipperary team’s after-match Banquet in the Burlington Hotel also complimented the achievements of the Tipperary U21 teams this year. “It’s been a wonderful year for the county at this grade winning an historic ‘double’ in Munster. The football renaissance in Tipperary continues under the guidance of charismatic Kerryman – John Evans who cannot be with us on October 30th but Aherlow man Ciaran McDonald who was one of the Tipperary heroes in Tralee that clinched the Premier County’s first ever provincial title over Kerry, will be accompanied by the cup,” confirmed Johnny Whyte. Tipperary’s U21 hurlers also won their first All-Ireland title in fifteen years after a recent emphatic victory over Galway. Over two hundred and fifty diners will therefore be making their way to the Crown Moran Hotel, Cricklewood Broadway on the last weekend in October.

Entertainment will once again be provided by the magnificent Barry Owen Band.

Tickets enquiries can be made to the London Tipperary Association’s Life President – Tom Milne (00 44) (0) 20 7387 7739.
Mob: (00 44 (0) 7956 938187.
Chairman – John Whyte (00 44) (0) 20 8641 9977.
Mob: (00 44 (0) 7889 060191.
President – Gus Casey (00 44) (0) 20 8422 0596. Mob: (00 44 (0) 7939 110219

Leave a Reply