Junior News 3 August

This weeks winner is Brian Hogan from the Lorrha club.

This week’s draw

This week’s prizes are a Tipperary Supporters Club Baseball Cap, a Tipperary  Supporters Radio and in addition a special prize of a free copy of the new Bainisteoir hurling manager game.  

This year will be the 20th running of this competition that commenced in 1988 and is held every year in Tipperary. Eleven counties will be taking part on the weekend of 25th and 26th August with Tipperary fielding two teams.

Tipperary tops the roll of honour for this competition with eight titles. The draws for this year’s championship resulted in Tipperary ‘A’ being paired with Kilkenny and Cork in Group 1.  This is regarded as the most difficult of the four groups and Tipperary will have to be at their very best to reach the semi finals. Tipperary ‘B’ has been drawn in Group 3 with Galway and Waterford.

The complete draw is as follows:

Group 1 Tipperary ‘A’, Kilkenny, Cork.            Group 2 Limerick, Antrim, Offaly.      Group 3 Tipperary ‘B’, Galway, Waterford.   Group 4 Dublin, Clare, Wexford.

The group rounds and the semi finals will be played on Saturday 25th August.  The top team in each group will qualify for the Tipperary Supporters Club semi finals and the second placed team in each group will qualify for the Shield semi finals.  Both finals will be played on Sunday 26th August.

The Tipperary Supporters’ Club are delighted to sponsor this important competition.  In 2006 in the first year of the sponsorship it was great to see Tiobraid Árann emerge victorious.

Leave a Reply