Junior News 29 November

Niall Ryan from the Silvermines Club was a recent winner in the weekly draw for Junior Members of the Tipperary Supporters Club and he won a Tipperary Supporters Club cap and radio.

 Loughmore-Castleiney meet Tulla of Clare in the Munster Club Senior Hurling Championship Final on Sunday next at 2:00pm in the Gaelic Grounds in Limerick. The match will be shown live on TG4 and broadcast live on Tipp FM. 

On Sunday morning November 18th, the Tipperary Minor Hurling panel gathered for a special presentation by the Tipperary County Board sponsors Enfer. The function at The Venue in Dundrum House Hotel was well attended and following breakfast, each member of the victorious panel and backroom team received a presentation of an Ipod from Kate Ronan, wife of Enfer Group Director Louis Ronan.  County Board Chairman John Costigan, Kate Ronan and Team Manager Declan Ryan were among the speakers on the day. The presentation of the Munster and All-Ireland medals will take place at Youngs of the Ragg on Friday, January 25th.

The Munster Council have confirmed the dates and venues for the 2008 Munster Hurling Championships at all grades.  In the Senior and Intermediate Hurling semi-finals, Tipperary will play Cork at Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday, June 15th.   In Under 21 Hurling, Tipperary have got a bye to the semi-final where they will play Waterford or Limerick on July 16th .  In Minor Hurling, Tipperary will begin their quest for three All-Ireland titles in a row with a home match against Limerick on April 30th.  

The All-Stars will travel to New York this weekend where the annual exhibition game involving the All Star Hurlers of 2006 and 2007 will take place under the new floodlights at Gaelic Park on December 1st.    2006 All-Star Eoin Kelly (Mullinahone) and 2007 All-Star Declan Fanning (Killenaule) will be joined by replacements Conor O’Mahony (Newport) and Shane McGrath (Ballinahinch) on the trip and we wish the four Tipperary hurlers well on their trip to the Big Apple.

Congratulations to the Tipperary Minor Hurlers who won the overall sports achievement awards at the Tipp FM Sports awards on Friday last.  In addition, Jimmy Doyle won the first Tipp FM Sports Hall of Fame awards on the night.  Well done to all the winners on the night including monthly award winners Jimmy Purcell and Declan Fanning.

Leave a Reply