Harty Cup Results and Reports

Stapleton turns on the style as Nenagh outplay Charleville


Charleville CBS 1-11 Nenagh CBS 2-15

By Jackie Cahill

Thursday, October 08, 2009

CHARLEVILLE CBS suffered a chastening experience on their return to the Dr Harty Cup as Nenagh CBS got their campaign off to a winning start at Ballybricken yesterday.

Tipperary minor star Brian Stapleton shot five points for the winners, including one superb late sideline cut, and was a constant driving force from midfield.

Corner-forward Tadhg Gallagher bagged 2-2 and lively full-forward Eoin Hogan picked off seven points but Stapleton was the star turn.

Hogan pounced on Stapleton’s mishit free two minutes before the break and after his shot was saved by Charleville goalkeeper TJ Garvey, Gallagher pounced from close range for his first goal. That strike helped Nenagh to lead 1-8 to 0-6 at half-time but the introduction of Charleville sub Pa O’Callaghan worked wonders. O’Callaghan netted with just 45 seconds and added a point to bring Charleville back to within a single score. David Reidy’s 65 tied the game at 1-8 apiece but Nenagh’s response was emphatic as they replied with an unanswered 1-3 and into a real comfort zone.

Hogan and Stapleton clipped over points to start the purple patch before Gallagher was on hand again to pick up the pieces after another superb Stapleton sideline cut caused havoc in the Charleville full-back line.

Charleville, trailing by 1-10 to 2-12 with seven minutes remaining, had a chance to haul themselves back into contention but Mark Kavanagh’s penalty was well saved by Nenagh goalkeeper David Reddan.

The Kilruane McDonagh’s custodian also dealt with James O’Brien’s follow-up to cap a solid performance which also saw him pull off a smart first half save from Darren Sheedy.

Nenagh were comfortable in the final minutes as Stapleton decorated a fine individual display with a beautifully struck sideline cut with four minutes left to play.

Scorers for Charleville: P O’Callaghan 1-1, D Reidy 0-4 (2f, 1 65), M Kavanagh 0-2f, T Rea, D Sheedy, James O’Brien & B Casey 0-1 each.

Scorers for Nenagh CBS: T Gallagher 2-2, E Hogan 0-7 (2f), B Stapleton
0-5 (2 65s, 1 sl), John O’Brien 0-1.

NENAGH CBS: D Reddan; J Loughnane, D Maher, M O’Flaherty; D Quinn, J Forde, P Gill; B Stapleton, C Canning; P Butler, K Seymour, John O’Brien; T Gallagher, E Hogan, M Tuite.

SUBS: E Darcy for Canning (h/t), P Shanahan for O’Brien (47), J O’Dwyer for Loughnane (54).

CHARLEVILLE: TJ Garvey; D Copps, B McCarthy, S Roche; A Dennehy, A Cagney, S Butler; M O’Loughlin, T Rea; J O’Brien, D Sheedy, D Reidy; B Casey, J Madigan, M Kavanagh.

SUBS: P O’Callaghan for Seymour (h/t), C Twomey for Casey (42), B Bresnan for Cagney (inj, 58).

Referee: P. Coffey (Cappamore)

Thurles turn up the heat to overpower Spioraid Naoimh


Thurles CBS 3-13 Colaiste Spioraid Naoimh 0-7

By Brendan Larkin

Thursday, October 08, 2009

THURLES CBS opened the defence of their Dr Harty Cup title with a comfortable victory over Coláiste An Spioraid Naoimh in the first round at Rathcormac yesterday.

Fielding seven of last year’s all-conquering squad, the champions were never going to lose this game, but the final scoreline is a little flattering as the Bishopstown school put up a brave show and were only a point adrift early in the second-half.

However, two goals in a minute by Pat Ralph ended any hopes of a shock result and the champions will only get better the longer they stay in the competition.

Defensively the Tipp school were outstanding. Full-back Dara Devane, corner-back Stephen Maher and centre-back Denis Maher were rock solid and the CSN attack never really functioned.

Thurles’s skill factor was very evident all over the field, but particularly in attack where Pat Ralph, Aidan McCormack, and Michael O’Brien caused endless problems for an overworked CSN defence.

Bishopstown defended well in the face of the constant pressure but full-back Conor Dorman and centre-back Diarmuid Lester did all they could to stem the tide, Lester showing his class with a delightful point after a great run.

Roger Ryan worked tirelessly at midfield but it was up front where CSN’s troubles lay and only Patrick Wiley and Conor McHugh posed any real danger to the Thurles defence. There was little to choose between the sides in the opening quarter at the end of which Thurles led 0-3 to 0-1. The signs were ominous for CSN who had to wait until the 15th minute for their opening score.

However, there was only going to be one result after Philip Looby found the CSN net despite the best efforts of Stephen Lynch, and without over exerting themselves, Thurles went on to lead 1-6 to 0-4 at half time.

CSN threatened to make a match of it with two quick points early in the second-half but a combination of poor finishing at one end and the concession of needless frees at the other both contributed to their eventual downfall.

The accuracy of Aidan McCormack both from frees and play had Thurles 1-11 to 0-6 in front by the three quarter-stage and in the space of the next 60 seconds they closed out the CSN challenge when the impressive Pat Ralph rounded his marker for two goals of outstanding quality.

Scorers for Thurles CBS: P. Ralph 2-0; A. McCormack 0-7 (0-5 frees); D. Maher 0-3 (0-2 frees); P. Looby 1-0; T. Doyle, M. Sadler, M. O’Brien 0-1 each.

CSN: B. Coffey 0-2 (0-1 65, 0-1 free); D. Lester, O. Ryan, P. Wiley, D. O’Brien, D. Cahalane (free) 0-1 each.

THURLES CBS: A. Stakelum; S. Maher, D. Devane, P. Dunne; C. Carroll, D. Maher, D. Fitzpatrick; P. Looby, M. Sadler; N. O’Brien, D. Ferncombe, P. Ralph; B. Campion, A. McCormack, M. O’Brien.

Subs: T. Doyle for O’Brien (17); C. Barrett for Ferncombe (40); C. Treacy for Sadler (50); A. Power for D. Maher (50); A. Dunne for P. Dunne (55).

CSN: S. Lynch; R. Sheahan, C. Dorman, P. Coakley; C. Dunne, D. Lester, D. Cahalane; B. Coffey, R. Ryan; O. Ryan, P. Wiley, C. McHugh; M. Collins, D. O’Brien, D. Delea.

Referee: D. Kirwan (Cork).


Leave a Reply