Well done to the Tipperary Senior Football team on their exciting one point victory over Laois on Sunday last at Semple Stadium Thurles. This was the second consecutive year which the Premier County has been successful in the first round of the qualifiers following their victory over Louth last year. The draw for the second round of the All-Ireland Qualifiers sees us travelling to Croke Park to take on the Dubs at 6:00pm on Saturday week July 10th. The All-Ireland Senior Hurling Qualifier between Dublin and Clare will be the curtain-raiser starting at 4:00pm. This will be the fourth time that Tipperary and Dublin will be drawn to meet each other in Championship action. In the GAA’s first All-Ireland Championship in 1887, Tipperary received a walkover from Dublin in a first round game scheduled for Mountrath. In the 1902 All-Ireland Home Final (played in July 1904 at Kilkenny), Dublin defeated Tipperary by 0-6 to 0-5. Their last Championship meeting came in the 1920 All-Ireland Final (played in 1922) when Croke Park was the venue for Tipperary’s 1-6 to 1-2 victory.

Meath and Louth have qualified for the 2010 Leinster Senior Football Final. Both counties have been defeated by Tipperary in the last year. Louth lost to Tipperary in both the 2009 National Football League and 2009 Championship while Meath lost to Tipperary in the 2010 National Football League on March 14th at Semple Stadium. Since John Evans took over as Tipperary Senior Football manager, the Premier County have faced Leinster opposition on 15 occasions in either the National Football League or the Championship, winning 8. During that period, Tipperary have secured victories over Kilkenny, Laois, Louth (twice), Meath, Offaly, Westmeath and Wicklow. The only Leinster counties which Tipperary have not played since 2008 are Dublin and Wexford (runners-up to Tipperary in the 2005 Tommy Murphy Cup Final).

Leave a Reply