Congratulations to Seamus Hennessy (Kilruane MacDonaghs), who was a key member of the NUIG team which won the Fitzgibbon Cup Third Level Colleges Senior Hurling title for the first time in 30 years when they defeated Waterford IT in the final at Pearse Stadium Galway last weekend. Congratulations also to Shane Quinlan (also Kilruane MacDonaghs) who featured as a substitute in the final and Sean McCormack (Borris-Ileigh) who was a member of the NUIG panel. WIT also had a strong Tipperary representation with Timmy Hammersley (Clonoulty Rossmore – top scorer for the finals weekend and the entire competition), Ray McLoughney (Kilruane MacDonaghs), Willie O’Dwyer (Carrick Davins), Kieran Reade (Carrick Swans), Michael Sheedy (Portroe) and Stephen Spillane (Arravale Rovers) all members of the panel. They were coached by former Tipperary selector and All Ireland medallist and current Wexford Senior Hurling manager, Colm Bonnar from Cashel.

Leave a Reply