County Convention, Outgoing and New Officers


The County Board Convention will take place on Sunday next, December 14th at 1:00pm in the Thurles Sarsfields Social Centre. Mass will be held at 12:00pm, also in the Social Centre.


Next Monday’s County convention will see a variety of officers stepping down following a number of years of service. Con Hogan (Marlfield) will step down as Central Council Representative after serving in this capacity since 2003. The five year term of office for County PRO Ed Donnelly (Moycarkey-Borris) expires having served since July 2003. Mid Chairman PJ Maher (Boherlahan-Dualla), North Chairman John Sherlock (Silvermines) and South Chairman Micheal McCormack (Fethard) will complete their term as Divisional Chairmen and as members of the County Executive. On behalf of the Tipperary County Board, I would like to thank each of the outgoing officers for their contribution to the GAA in Tipperary over the past number of years.


As one chapter ends, another one begins and I will would like to wish the new County Board officers for 2009 the very best in the new roles. John Costigan (JK Brackens) steps down as County Chairman after a three year term and will take over from Con Hogan as Tipperary’s Central Council Representative. Barry O’Brien (Fr. Sheehys) will graduate from Vice-Chairman to become County Chairman. In the Divisions, Matty Ryan (Drom & Inch) will become the new Mid Chairman at the Mid Convention on Thursday night. Michael Sheehy (Ballina) is the new North Chairman while Dick Egan (Mullinahone) is the new South Chairman. All three will be members of the County Board Executive going forward. County Development Officer Sean Nugent (Kilsheelan-Kilcash) and North Chairman John Sherlock are standing for the position of County Vice-Chairman. Tom Maher (Moyne-Templetuohy) will become the first ever Assistant Secretary of the Board while John O’Donovan (Thurles KRF) will become Assistant Treasurer. Sean Nugent and Michael Bourke (Upperchurch-Drombane) are the candidates for the position of County Development Officer. Finally, Ger Ryan (Templederry Kenyons) will become the sixth person to serve as Public Relations Officer of the Tipperary County Board following in the footsteps of Seamus O’Riain (Moneygall), John O’Grady (Moycarkey-Borris), Liz Howard (Burgess), Gerry Long (Knockshegowna) and Ed Donnelly. 

Courtesy Ed Donnelly,

Leave a Reply