Cork and Waterford to play off

Allianz Hurling League, Cork and Waterford to play off to decide who meets Tipperary and Limerick

Following a meeting of the Central Competitions Control Committee this morning, the GAA have confirmed that the hurlers of Cork and Waterford (who both finished on six points in Division 1a of the Allianz League) will play-off in Páirc na nGael, Limerick on Sunday next, March 30th at 2.30 pm to establish which of the teams will qualify for the quarter finals in 2nd and which in 3rd place. The CCCC confirmed that as the counties were affected by the unplayed matches in the Division, scoring difference could not be used to determine the final finishing positions. 

The loser of the play off will play Tipperary while the winner will meet Limerick in the other quarter final. 

It was also determined that as the scoring difference of both Dublin and Wexford was not affected by the unplayed games in the Division, Dublin, with their superior scoring difference, have finished in fourth place in Division 1a. Dublin will now play in Division 1 in 2009, while Wexford finish fifth and will play in Division 2.


The CCCC have pointed out that the decisions taken are in accordance with Rule 116 (c) of the Official Guide which provides for scoring difference as the initial means of deciding qualification for the concluding stages of league competition, or for promotion and relegation except where "….the accumulated scores of a team, so involved, are affected by a disqualification, retirement or walk over, the tie shall be decided by a play off".


29.03.08 (Sat) @ 7.00pm

Allianz National Football League

Round 5

Roinn I

Omagh Tír Eoghain v Dún na nGall

Referee: Padraig Hughes (Ard Mhacha)


Portlaoise Laois v Ciarraí

Referee: Marty Duffy (Sligeach)

Roinn II

Kingspan An Cabhán v Corcaigh

Breffni Pk Referee: Maurice Deegan (Laois)


Roinn III

Newry An Dún v Luimneach

Referee: Cormac Reilly (An Mhí)


30.03.08 (Sun) @ 2.30pm

Roinn I

Newbridge Cill Dara v Maigh Eo

Referee: Pat McEnaney (Muineachán)


Pearse Park Gaillimh v Doire LIVE TG4

Referee: Rory Hickey (An Clár)

Roinn II

Dr Hyde Park Ros Comáin v Iar Mhí

Referee: David Coldrick (An Mhí)


Clones Muineachán v An Mhí

Referee: Michael Hughes (Tír Eoghain)


Crossmaglen Ard Mhacha v Baile Átha Cliath

Referee: Derek Fahy (Longfort)


Roinn III

Markievicz Park Sligeach v Fear Manach

Referee: Jimmy White (Dún na nGall)


Pearse Park Longfort v An Lú

Referee: Vincent Neary (Maigh Eo)




30.03.08 (Sun) @ 2.30pm

Roinn III

Wexford Park Loch Garman v Liatroim

Referee: Michael Meade (Luimneach)


Division 4 Round 6

Dr. Cullen Park Ceatharlach v Tiobraid Árann

Referee: Tomas Quigley (BÁC)


Tullamore Uíbh Fhailí v Port Láirge

Referee: Joe Curley (An Mhí)


Ruislip Londain v Aontroim

Referee: Martin Sludden (Tír Eoghain)


Cusack Park An Clár v Cill Mhantáin

Referee: Gearóid O Conamha (Gaillimh)


Cill Chainnigh v Bye


30.03.08 (Sun) @ 2.30pm

Allianz National Hurling


Roinn 1A

Limerick Corcaigh v Port Láirge

Referee: TBC


Round 3

Roinn 3 Re-Fixture

Omagh Tír Eoghain v Longfort

Referee: TBC

Leave a Reply