CROKE PARK GAA MUSEUM UPDATE AND DISCOUNT

New in the Museum this summer is the Croke Park Timeline. Starting in 1864, the timeline takes museum visitors on a visual journey through the significant events and milestones of the stadium’s rich history. There are some fascinating documents that remind us all of the huge social, cultural and sporting history behind the iconic stadium starting with a sepia-toned map of “Butterly’s Field”. This 21 acre area of land “on the south side of Clonliffe Road in the parish of Saint George and County of Dublin” that Alderman Maurice Butterly purchased back on April 16 1864 is the current site of Croke Park Stadium. Other early significant dates featuring on the timeline include March 15 1896, which marked the first All-Ireland Football and Hurling Finals to be played at Jones’ Road, and the purchase of the site by the GAA in 1913, renaming it Croke Memorial Park. Non-GAA events also feature, with images showing the huge hype and publicity around the July 19 1972 meeting of Muhammad Ali and Al ‘Blue’ Lewis, as well as mention of the first historic first Rugby and Soccer matches in 2007, the Special Olympics in 2003 and U2’s numerous sell-out shows since 1985. The GAA Museum is offering all GAA Clubs a saving of 25% on published list prices from now until December 31st 2009. Booking is essential, and this offer must be quoted at time of booking.

Leave a Reply