Annual General Meeting of Tipperary Supporters Club

Report on 21st AGM of the Tipperary Supporters Club

The 21st Annual General Meeting of Tipperary Supporters Club was held on Wednesday March 5th at the Red Cow Moran Hotel Dublin.  The audited financial report showed that over €125,000 was given by the Supporters Club towards the training and preparation of the senior hurling team and supporting underage hurling through sponsorship for the minor team and the All-Ireland U-16 hurling championship which is run in Tipperary each year by Tipperary Bord na nOg.  The funds were raised mainly from the Legends Night in February 2007, the Golf Classic in May 07 and membership sales along with smaller amounts from sponsorship and donations, Tipperary Credit Card and Table Quizzes.  Since it was founded in 1986 the club has now raised over €1.8m for Tipperary hurling.

Following the Secretary’s Report on the activities for the year, the Chairman in the course of his address thanked all of those who had contributed to the Club and to Tipperary Hurling during the year including Club members, sponsors, funders, committee members, County Board and Bord na nÓg officials, team managers, selectors and backroom teams and of course the players who wore the Blue and Gold.  He made special mention of the great work Babs Keating did on behalf of the Supporters Club despite his busy role as Team Manager and thanked Babs, Tom Barry and John Leahy for all the good work they did during their 2 year term. He wished Liam Sheedy and the team every success for 2008 and assured them of wholehearted support from the Supporters Club.  In particular, tribute was paid to Gerry Ryan who was retiring after many years of tremendous service as PRO and Membership Officer of the Club.  Tribute was also paid to retiring committee members Andy Lacey, Kieran O’Meara, Pat Creed, Jim Donovan and Tom Maxwell for their great service. Both Andy Lacey and Kieran O’Meara served with distinction on committee since the inception of the Supporters Club.  The following trophies won by Tipperary teams were on display at the meeting: Tipperary Supporters Club All Ireland Under 16, Munster and All Ireland Minor and Waterford Crystal Cup.
The following were elected as officers for the coming year: Ger Ryan (Chairman), Joe Tuohy (Secretary), Michael Nolan (Treasurer), John Ryan (Assistant Treasurer) and John Coman (PRO and Membership Officer).  New committee members elected were Christy Hayes, William Maher and John Malone.  In conclusion the meeting was addressed by the following: John Costigan, Chairman of the Tipperary County Board who highlighted the invaluable role played by the Club in funding and supporting the preparation of the Tipperary teams; Liam Sheedy, Senior Hurling Team Manager; Liz Howard, Uachtarán, Cumann Camógaíochta na hÉireann; Seán Fogarty, GAA Presidential candidate; and Michael Fenton, President of the Tipperary Association, Dublin.

Leave a Reply