Best of luck to our senior hurlers and team management for their All Ireland hurling semi-final against Limerick in Croke Park on Sunday next, August 16th at 3.30pm. Victory will mean a first All Ireland senior final appearance since 2001. Old rivals Limerick will not be easy to overcome and a close encounter is the forecast of most commentators.


Tickets for Tipperary v Limerick are available through clubs, from Lár na Páirce in Thurles up to 5pm on Saturday, and on Ticketmaster, . Adult tickets are €45 each. Family tickets are €45 per adult and €5 per juvenile. Hill 16 tickets are €30.

The meeting of Limerick and Tipperary on Sunday will be their first championship encounter since the 2007 trilogy of games in the Munster Championship. Two years ago, it took over four hours of hurling to separate the counties after three matches with both replays going to extra time before Limerick won the second replay by 0-22 to 2-13. Just over two years later, it is interesting to look at the changes in the respective team line-outs. Limerick’s starting line-up in their 2009 All-Ireland Quarter-Final victory over Dublin contained 9 of the team which started the 2007 second replay against Tipperary with all of the defenders from 2007 still in the starting line-up. Meanwhile, Ollie Moran was introduced as a substitute against Dublin and Niall Moran is returning from injury. For Tipperary 6 of the team which lined out in the 2007 second replay defeat to Limerick were also in the starting line-up against Waterford in the 2009 Munster Final with Declan Fanning, Conor O’Mahony, Shane McGrath, James Woodlock, Eoin Kelly and Lar Corbett the players to start both games. Hugh Maloney and Benny Dunne were starters in 2007 and both made appearances as substitutes in the recent Munster Final success while Willie Ryan came on as a substitute in both games.


Limerick will go in to Sunday’s match relying on a number of players with experience of winning big games in Croke Park. 13 of the 18 players used by Limerick in the All-Ireland Quarter-Final victory over Dublin were involved in Limerick’s Croke Park victories in 2007 over Clare and Waterford on their march to the All-Ireland Final. Tipperary’s 2009 Munster Final winning team had four players in the starting line-up who have won a Senior Championship match in Croke Park, namely Brendan Cummins, Paul Curran Eoin Kelly and Lar Corbett. Benny Dunne, who appeared as a substitute in the Munster Final, also has experience of Croke Park victory with Tipp. In fact, all 5 were involved in Tipperary’s last Senior Championship victory in Croke Park – a 2-16 to 2-11 victory over Offaly in the 2003 All-Ireland Quarter-Final. Cummins, Kelly and Corbett also played on the All Ireland final winning team in 2001 as did panellist Paul Kelly. In addition, 3 of the Munster Final starting line-up – Seamus Callanan, Padraic Maher and Noel McGrath – have experience of winning All-Ireland minor titles in Croke Park as have 7 of their fellow panellists. So both sides on Sunday will have plenty of players who have tasted success in Croke Park!


Supporters travelling to Sunday’s game in Croke Park are reminded to be careful to park legally if parking in the residential areas around Croke Park. Parking on footpaths or blocking gateways is prohibited and is likely to lead to a fine or vehicles being clamped or towed away. There are plenty of car parks near Croke Park and many of the city centre car parks are offering special rates on production of a match ticket. 


Don’t forget that members of the Tipperary Supporters Club are entitled to a 25% discount on accomodation at the four-star Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, Naas Road.  To access the discount just use the promotion code which you will find on our website .

Leave a Reply

All-Ireland Senior Hurling Semi Final

Tipperary will play in the All-Ireland Senior Hurling Semi Final on Sunday 17th August in Croke Park against the winners of the Quarter Final between Waterford and Wexford which will be played on this Sunday 27th July.  The other Quarter Final between Cork and Clare also takes place in Thurles this Sunday and the winner of that game will play Kilkenny in the other Semi Final on Sunday 10th August.

Leave a Reply