The Tipperary Association, Dublin this weik announced its Tipperary Person of the Year and Hall of Fame Award winners, Alan Quinlan and Donie Nealon.  Alan and Donie will be honoured at the Annual Dinner of the Association which takes place on Wednesday 5th May in the Louis Fitzgerald Hotel, Naas Road, Dublin.  Tickets are €50 and please contact Michael Fenton 086 2550073 to book for an occasion which is expected to sell out.

News from the Tipperary Association Dublin…….


Munster rugby star and former Ireland International Alan Quinlan was today named as this year’s Tipperary Person of the Year.
The announcement was made at a function in the Palace Bar on Dublin’s Fleet St organised by the Tipperary Association Dublin.
Alan Quinlan (35) was capped 27 times for Ireland and was part of Ireland’s squad at the 2003 Rugby World Cup in Australia where he scored two tries in the tournament before dislocating his shoulder scoring a vital try against Argentina in the pool stages which ended his involvement. He was named in Ireland’s 2007 Rugby World Cup squad but did not make any appearance.
A native of Limerick Junction, Alan Quinlan grew up in a farming background and attended the Monastery Primary School and the Abbey CBS in Tipperary Town. He worked for a local motor dealer, Pierse Motors, after leaving school for a time. He began his rugby career with Clanwilliam FC where he captained the Irish Youth Team against Scotland in 1993. He still has a major input into the club where he helps with coaching, fundraising etc.
He normally plays as blindside flanker but has also played openside, number eight and second row for Munster. He played soccer for St Michaels in Tipperary and played football for Tipperary at county level.
From Clanwilliam, Alan moved to join Shannon U20s in 1994 and began playing for Munster in 1996. He captained the youth team before becoming a regular in the first team. In May 1996 he helped Shannon win the AIB League Division 1 and Munster win the Heineken Cup in a win over Biarritz in Cardiff. He captained Munster in their victory over Ulster in Ravenhill in the 2007 Magner’s League and was voted Man of the Match when Munster beat Toulouse to win the Heineken Cup for a second time in 2008. In total he holds five league medals with Shannon, two Heineken Cup medals and a Celtic League Meal with Munster.
Alan represented Ireland ‘A’ between 1998 and 2001 and made his senior debut for the Irish national side in October 1999 in a Test against Romania. He played his first Six Nations match against Italy in 2001.
In April 2009, Alan was named in the squad for the 2009 Lions tour of South Africa but due to a 12 week ban incurred over an incident during the Heineken Cup semi-final defeat to Leinster in May he missed the tour.
More recently he has had strong performances for Munster in both the Heineken Cup and Magners League, often earning Man of the Match. In the 2009/2010 season he represented Munster against Cardiff Blues, Scarlets, Newport Gwent Dragons, Northampton Saints, Benetton Treviso, Ulster, Ospreys, Perpignon and Leinster.
Alan Quinlan is married to Irish model Ruth Griffin and the couple have one son, AJ.

Commenting on the award, Tipperary Association President Michael Fenton said Alan Quinaln was a well deserved winner and Tipperary’s first rugby player to receive the award. He said his outstanding achievements in the field of rugby provided an inspiration to thousands of young men today.
Alan Quinlan will be presented with the award at a dinner in the Louis Fitzgerald hotel on Wednesday, 5th May, 2010.
The Tipperary Person of the Year Award is sponsored by CP Omada.

Hall of Fame award

Former Tipperary hurling great, Donie Nealon was named the winner of this year’s Tipperary Association Hall of Fame award.

A native of Newtown, he played with Duharra as a juvenile went on to play with Burgess for many years. During his student days, he played with UCD in Dublin where he won a county title. He was a member of the Tipperary senior inter-county team from 1958 until 1969. He is the holder of five All-Ireland medals 1958, 1961, 1962, 1964 and 1965 as well as eight Munster titles, six National league wins and has been an All Star on three occasions. He was named Texaco Hurler of the Year in 1962. Donie also won a Harty Cup medal with St. Flannan’s in 1954, scoring eight points in the final.

After the conclusion of his playing career, Donie became trainer of the Tipperary senior side and was involved with the 1971 All-Ireland winning side. He later went on to become Tipperary selector and, along with Babs Keating and Theo English, oversaw the All-Ireland victories of 1989 and 1991.

At club level, Donie Nealon has held all officer positions. He also captained Burgess to their first ever county title in 1964, when they captured the Junior (now Intermediate) crown. Like his father Rody, Donie was a popular and respected referee and continued playing for his club. The great goalkeeper ended his career playing in goals for Burgess.

Donie followed his father and grandfather as teacher in Newtown. Always an efficient GAA administrator, on his retirement from teaching, Donie became Secretary of the Munster Council from where he served from 1977 to 2004.

Speaking of the award, Tipperary Association President, Michael Fenton said that one of the most fascinating aspects of Donie’s long career is that he is still very much involved with his club and is still a great worker in it’s underage programme.

The Hall of Fame Award is sponsored by Louis Fitzgerald.

For further information contact Michael Fenton on 086 255 0073 or Tim Ryan on 087 247 1423.

Leave a Reply