AIB Munster Club Championships Draw

AIB GAA Club Championships Update
Week 1 – 8th October 2008


It’s a hectic time on the GAA’s club scene as local programmes are being completed all around the country, paving the way for the AIB provincial championships which will run until early December.

Those exciting campaigns will provide the All-Ireland semi-final line-up, leading towards the big All-Ireland final spectaculars in Croke Park on St.Patrick’s Day.

The AIB Club Championships have grown in stature and appeal since their inception in 1971 and with action at senior, intermediate and junior level, players are catered for at every standard. The Club Championships dominate the GAA landscape from October to March as clubs pursue the great dream of testing themselves at provincial and All-Ireland level.

As usual, the distinction of launching the senior provincial campaign falls to Ulster hurling which stages two semi-finals in Casement Park next Sunday with the pairings as follows:

Ballygalget (Down) v Keady (Armagh), Casement Park, 1.45pm.
Cushendall (Antrim) v Kevin Lynch’s (Derry), Casement Park, 3.30pm

Ballygalget regained the Down title after a three year gap last Sunday, beating Portaferry by 2-13 to 0-9 in the county final on a day when Martin Coulter scored 1-4 for the winners. Ballygalget last won the Ulster title in 2005 and will start as favourites to reach another final against a Keady side that won last year’s provincial intermediate final.

Cushendall, who won their 9th Ulster title two years ago, take on Kevin Lynch’s who reached the Ulster final for the past two years. This is a repeat of the 2006 Ulster final which Cushendall won in a replay.

2008 AIB GAA Club Championships Provincial Draws

The following are the draws for this year’s AIB GAA Football Senior Provincial Club championships. Please note that several counties have yet to complete their programmes.

AIB GAA Football Club Championship:


Quarter-finals: Eastern Harps (Sligo) v Glencar-Manorhamilton (Leitrim).
Semi-finals: Castlerea or Pearses (Roscommon) v Corofin (Galway); Crossmolina/Ballaghadereen/Charlestown (Mayo) v Eastern Harps or Glencar-Manorhamilton.


First round: St.Vincent’s/Kilmacud Crokes/Ballymun Kickhams/Oliver Plunketts (Dublin) v Sarsfields or Celbridge (Kildare); Wexford champions v Navan O’Mahonys or Summerhill (Meath); Eire Og/Mount Leinster Rangers/Palatine (Carlow) v Kiltegan or St.Patrick’s (Wicklow).
Quarter-finals: Rhode (Offaly) v Portlaoise or Timahoe (Laois); Dublin or Kildare v Newtown Blues (Louth); Wexford or Meath v Garrycastle or Castledaly (Westmeath); Carlow or Wicklow v Colmcille (Longford).


Quarter-finals: Kilmurry-Ibrickane or Liscannor (Clare) v Waterford champions; Nemo Rangers (Cork) v Kerry champions.
Semi-finals: Clare or Waterford v Cahir/Aherlow/Galtee Rovers (Tipperary); Ballylanders or Drom-Broadford (Limerick) v Nemo Rangers or Kerry champions.


Preliminary round: Mayobridge (Down) v St.Gall’s (Antrim).
Quarter-finals: Carrickmacross or Latton (Monaghan) v Ballinderry (Derry)’
St.Eunan’s (Donegal) v Tyrone champions; Crossmaglen Rangers or Pearse Og
(Armagh) v St.Patrick’s (Fermanagh); Mayobridge or St.Gall’s v Cavan Gaels or Denn (Cavan).

AIB GAA Hurling Club Championship:


Quarter-finals: Ballyhale Shamrocks/Carrickshock/O’Loughlin Gaels/James Stephens (Kilkenny) v Portlaoise or Rathdowney Erill (Laois); Dublin champions v Birr or Kinnity (Offaly).
Semi-finals: Kilkenny/Laois v Raharney (Westmeath); Dublin/Offaly v St.Anne’s/Oulart-The-Ballagh/Rathnure/St.Martin’s (Wexford).


Quarter-final: Sarsfields (Cork) v
Crusheen/Clonlara/St.Joseph’s/Newmarket-on-Fergus (Clare).
Semi-finals: Adare or Ahane (Limerick) v Toomevara/Clonoulty-Rossmore or Thurles Sarsfields (Tipperary); Waterford champions v Sarsfields or Clare champions.


Ballygalget (Down) v Keady (Armagh); Cushendall (Antrim) v Kevin Lynch’s

Leave a Reply