Connors injury mars Deise win Waterford 2-21 Tipperary 1-17

By Jackie Cahill

Monday May 09 2011

MunsterR senior hurling champions Waterford defeated All-Ireland kingpins Tipperary in a high-scoring challenge match at Holycross, Tipperary, last night to mark the official opening of the local club’s new John Doyle centre.

The memory of the late eight-time All-Ireland SHC medallist was honoured in fitting style with an entertaining encounter.

Tipp boss Declan Ryan and his Waterford counterpart Davy Fitzgerald were naturally hoping to come through this encounter unscathed ahead of their forthcoming Munster SHC fixtures but the Deise’s All Star corner-back Noel Connors was a late casualty with a hand injury.

With unlimited substitutions available, Ryan and Fitzgerald both emptied their respective benches and Tipp’s subs featured Michael and Jacko Doyle, both grandsons of John.

At half-time, Waterford held a 1-11 to 1-9 advantage. The visitors had the wind advantage but Tipperary responded to Brian O’Sullivan’s 12th-minute goal by digging in for the remainder of the half.

Shane Bourke placed the returning Seamus Callanan for a fine goal on the half hour and Tipp led at that stage by 1-8 to 1-7. Callanan, who missed Tipp’s entire league campaign with a broken collarbone, looked fresh on his return and finished with 1-2, including a well-taken ’65’ in the second half.

Pauric Mahony hit nine points for Waterford, all but one from placed balls, while sub Shane Walsh made a significant impact from the bench, hitting 1-2 in the second half.

Scorers — Waterford: Pauric Mahony 0-9 (7f, 1 ’65’), B O’Sullivan, S Walsh 1-2 each, K Moran, J Mullane 0-2 each, E McGrath, N Connors, S O’Sullivan, S Casey 0-1 each. Tipperary: E Kelly 0-7 (3f), S Callanan 1-2 (0-1 ’65’), S Bourke 0-3, J O’Neill, P Kerwick 0-2 each, J Woodlock 0-1.

WATERFORD — C Hennessy; J Maher, W Hutchinson, N Connors; T Browne, D Prendergast, J Nagle; E McGrath, K Moran; G Crotty, S O’Sullivan, Pauric Mahony; E Kelly, S Prendergast, B O’Sullivan. Subs: S Casey for Kelly (h-t), Philip Mahony for Browne (h-t), S Walsh for S Prendergast (h-t), M Walsh for D Prendergast (h-t), J Mullane for Crotty (52), A Kearney for McGrath (52), T Ryan for B O’Sullivan (61), L Lawlor for Connors (61), E Murphy for Pauric Mahony (64).

TIPPERARY — B Cummins; J Coughlan, G Hannigan, L Mackey; C O’Mahony, P Maher, J O’Keeffe; S McGrath, J Woodlock; P Kerwick, S Callanan, N McGrath; J O’Neill, E Kelly, S Bourke. Subs: B O’Meara for N McGrath (h-t), M Gleeson for S McGrath (h-t), P Curran for O’Keeffe (h-t), S Lillis for Coughlan (h-t), M Doyle for O’Neill (55), S Carey for Callanan (53), J Doyle for Hannigan (63), T Lowry for Cummins (65).

Ref — J Sexton (Cork)

– Jackie Cahill

Irish Independent


Leave a Reply